Bibia Be Ye Ye (All Will Be Well)

Hello and hi. Bibia Be Ye Ye is pretty much an amazing song by our very own Ed Sheeran. I have previously blogged on Ed. Yes. Yes, I have.  Bibia Be Ye Ye translates into: All will be well.  In this song, our Ed actually sings in Twi, which is a collection of dialects of the Akan language, spoken in Ghana. You are welcome. And now for the video. Hope you like this song as much as I do. Enjoy.

Cheers

A Fish Story…(this is actually a TRUE story)

 

 

Hello and hi. I have a fish story/anecdote for you-not my usual post…not about the UK, BREXIT, British politics, Prince Harry etc.-but thought it was interesting. I sure did. Anyway, as you probably know…when someone says ‘fish story’ it means that it is an exaggerated or incredible story. It is hard to believe. It is pretty incredulous. I think you get the point. That being said, I have a fish story…but here’s the thing-it is TRUE. It is not a fish story per se, but rather about an actual fish. Yes. Yes it is. So, this happened….

Recently in Brazil (where Tilapia has long been a staple fish, in terms of Brazilian diets) Tilapia has been assisting burn victims. Please read that again. How crazy is that? Pretty crazy, if you ask me. Yup.

Researchers at the Federal University of Ceara are confident (presumably through research-they are researchers after all) that the skin of freshwater fish can actually be developed and used as a sort of bandage for second and third degree burns. How interesting. How gross. I mean, how gross is fish skin? I mean….I eat fish pretty much every day-and let me tell you…it is horrible to touch and super slimy. I got no time for fish skin and I certainly do not want it on my second or third degree burn. I would prefer a bandage-thanks, that would be great.

Anyway, the researchers have deduced (via research) that there are certain proteins in the fish skin and that its moisture-retaining properties, disease resistance and flexibility are quite similar to human skin-as reported in The Times. Oh my Lakshmi. I mean, there are so many other things to be researching…but fish skin? But really now, it is pretty great that burn victims now have a viable option towards their healing. So, yay for that.

 

 

The aforementioned research involved 60 volunteers with burns-they had their burns dressed with Tilapia fish skin and their burns healed pretty quickly and the volunteers actually needed/requested fewer painkillers. When you have a serious burn-gauze dressings need to be changed every 24 hours-this is not only incredibly painful but there is a risk of impeding the healing process with the constant changing of the gauze-but with a sterile skin covering (like Tilapia fish skin) it can actually be left on the burn patient for a period of 10 days and then be peeled away with little or no pain.

Apparently, the Tilapia skins are cleaned and subsequently disinfected using radiation and then cut into strips. The strips are then laminated and can be stored in a fridge for up to 2 years. Erm…I think I will take the gauze. I can’t exactly go to work with Tilapia fish skin on my arm. Nope. And another thing-I recently found out about Tilapia. Basically…I will NEVER eat Tilapia again. Ever. (Thanks Dad, for that nugget of info re Tilapia-it was pretty life changing. )

In closing, just wanted to share a fish story that was actually true. Truth. That is all.

 

 

 

Cheers

 

Jo Cox MP Memorial Events

Today marks the first anniversary of the tragic death of Jo Cox MP. Cox was fatally stabbed and shot, on 16 June 2016. You can read about events being held today in the UK, intended to honour and remember her in equal measure.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leeds-40293045

Life in London

Today Jo Cox would have been 42 years old. Here in the UK and around the world, people are celebrating her life, by taking part in various memorial events designed to celebrate the life of MP Jo Cox. The Labour MP and mother of two, was shot and stabbed in Birstall, West Yorkshire last Thursday, 16 June. Organisers said the events were intended to “show the world we have more in common than which divides us.”

Her family travelled along the river ahead of an event, in a memorial boat to Trafalgar Square. The memorial boat, covered in roses and bearing the name ‘Yorkshire Rose’ was pulled along by a barge carrying her husband- Brendan Cox and their two little ones, Lejla only 3, and Cuillin, just 5 years old. The family started the journey from the London houseboat where Jo had lived with her family. Tributes will also be…

View original post 224 more words