Meet Jess Glynne

 

                                                                                                Image: Zeta Boards

Hello and hi. Sorry peeps, have been a bit busy. It’s nothing you did. It’s me, not you. Sorry. I think you get the point. Anyway, Meet Jess Glynne. You are welcome. Ok, let’s do this

Jessica Hannah “Jess” Glynne was born 20 October 1989. Baby!  Our Jess is an English singer and songwriter-signed to Atlantic Records. Jess rose to prominence as a featured artist on Clean Bandit’s “Rather Be” and Route 94’s “My Love.” Have you heard of these songs? Please tell me you have. No? Don’t worry, we still cool. Yup.

In 2015, Jess became the SECOND British female solo artist after Cheryl Cole/Tweedy/ Fernandez-Versini (I can’t even with this woman…uggh.)Date much, love? Just find ONE partner, already. I can’t keep up with your ever changing surnames. But, I digress…

Like I was saying, Jess became the SECOND British female artist after Cheryl to have 5 number one singles in the UK. Wow. Massive achievement. Massive respect to Jess. Jess Glynne’s debut album: I Cry When I Laugh was released in 2015 and debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart. Wow. Just, wow.

Quick Bio

Jess Glynne was born in Hampstead and raised in Muswell Hill, North London into a Jewish family. While this (her being Jewish) is not important nor relevant-it is important to know that North London has a large population of Jewish persons-whose continuous contribution to British society is palpable. I have blogged on this very issue previously. Check it out, do it now. Please and thanks.  Anyway, our Jess had applied for The X Factor when she was 15 years, but dropped out of the audition process following a disagreement with the producers. Yikes. 15 is kind of young to be on the X Factor…but it sounded as though our Jess knew her own mind regarding her, style, sound-hence the disagreement with the producers. So, yeah…they fell out I guess.

Jess attended Rhodes Avenue Primary School, then attended Fortismere School where she completed her A levels in 2008. A levels? I have no idea of what that even is. My American people have grades in our school system. Grades 1-12. For real. Anyway, post A levels, Jess worked various jobs, which included working in a boutique, fitness centre/gym and a hairdresser. She did some travelling around the globe too. Later, she worked for a music management company in her late teens and then began networking with songwriters and producers. Of course, this helped her massively get her foot into the music industry. Massive respect for this London Girl and her tenacity. Woot woot.

In addition, Glynne completed a year long music course at an East London college- Access to Music-where she met her future collaborators: songwriter Jin Jin and producer Bless Beats.  Of course there is plenty more to say about our Jess, but have been brief here. This is a blog post, not a review in The Rolling Stone Magazine. No. No, it is not. If you want to know more about Glynne, educate yourself and read up on her.

I happen to like Jess Glynne a lot. She has a deep, soulful voice. Her words and lyrics ring true and speak of hope, pain, loss and love with a clarity so true, that it hurts. I guess you can tell that I am a big fan. I sure am. Anyway, I have added a video of hers here-Don’t be so hard of yourself…hope you like it as much as I do. Yup.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

