Christine and the Queens (Tilted)

Image result for image of christine and the queens

 

Hello and hi. So the song ‘Tilted’ by Christine and the Queens is erm…ok. It is not for everyone. Maybe it might appeal to you if you are French. I have no idea. I can’t decided if I like this song or not but they are playing it non stop here in the UK. Allow me to rephrase that, here in the UK they are playing a song by a French artist. Ok, weird.

This is weird because the English just love to talk rubbish about the French. At least 3 times a day I will hear a complete stranger on the tube mumble ‘Bloody French.’ And it is never just one particular French person who has caused English said grumblings- it is the entire nation of France that Brits are not too keen on. There are loads of reasons for this. Too many to list here, but the historical ties between England and France includes a myriad of conquests, wars and alliances in various parts/points of history. In brief, all you need to know is that Brits are not exactly BFF’s with France because…history.

Christine and the Queens

Héloïse Letissier was born 1 June 1988. Baby! Her stage name is Christine and the Queens, and she is a French singer, songwriter and producer. Born in Nantes and signed to the independent record label Because Music since 2012. Her work combines music, performance, art videos, drawings and photography. How terribly French of her. Respect.

Letissier studied theatre at ENS Lyon then moved to Paris in in 2010, where she concluded her studies. On a trip to London Town in 2010, she was inspired by the work of the local drag queen musicians, including Russella (who accompanied her in one of her early concerts). Later, her group became her ‘Queens’ as a backing band. Letissier has dedicated many of her creations to them and to ALL transgender individuals-this has subsequently meant that her genre has been described as “freakpop.” Hmm…am not entirely sure if that is even a compliment…’freakpop.’

 

 

Anyway, Christine and the Queens released their debut EP Miséricorde independently followed by another EP in 2012 called Mac Abbey with the minor hits “Narcissus is Back” and ‘Cripple.’ In 2012, Christine and the Queens won the Best Discovered Act known as Découverte du Printemps de Bourges. And she has received loads of other awards as well-just way to many to list.

So, here is the song below for your audible pleasure. Oh and wait until the end when the French rapping bit starts. Have you heard French rap? It is not for everyone. No. No, it is not. That being said, hope you like the video. One last thing-I like it when she sings: ‘I am actually good-can’t help it if we are tilted.’ I think that describes each and every one of us. It sure does. And now for the video…

 

Cheers

8 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · February 18

    You’ve got me intrigued. I’ll have to come to listen to this later when everyone in my house isn’t sleeping.

  2. samdfb1 · February 18

    Cool. Let me know. I still cant decide if I like it or not. And the French rap bit is interesting.

  3. Phil Taylor · February 18

    I liked the video. The quirky dancing was fun to watch. I don’t think I’d like the song on the radio though. Without the visual of the video, it’s kind of slow.

    • samdfb1 · February 18

      Yup. Same here. Totally agree with you, Phil.

  4. quiall · February 18

    I agree with Phil. The video and the song are good but one without the other? I did like it.

  5. nbratscott · February 18

    The dancing struck me as Michael Jackson-esk…

    • samdfb1 · February 19

      Yes…it was a bit MJ-esque. I totally agree!

Leave a Reply

