Six Nations Championship

Image result for image for 6 nations rugby


Hello and hi. The Superbowl is tomorrow. My home team, the Redskins, are not in the Superbowl this year (and have not been since 1992) and if even if they were-and let’s face it…that is a big IF…I would not support them. Sorry (not sorry) but until they change their name and logo-I want nothing more to do with them.  I mean, ‘Reskins?’ Really? What on earth? This type of ethnic stereotyping simply promotes misunderstanding and prejudice in equal measure. Am I right? I think I am. So, no Washington Redskins for me-I am all about Rugby (but good luck to the New England Patriots-am pretty sure you will demolish the Atlanta Falcons). Yup.

So, no American football for me. I am all about rugby. I sure am. I have previously blogged about rugby. Have you ever seen rugby played? Man, those boys are tough-they make American footballers look like ballerina’s. I am not even joking.  Rugby players are incredible athletes, they have speed, strength and tactical awareness. Fundamental skills include:

  • Tackling (there is tackling form and tackling placement)
  • Passing (this includes spinning and popping the ball)
  • Ball Running
  • Field Position
  • and probably a lot more too

In addition, if you play rugby, it does not hurt if you look like our Johnny Wilkinson who was a former rugby union player who represented England and The British and Irish Lions.


Image: The Telegraph



Anyway, all this talk of Johnny Wilkinson has nearly made me forget the reason for this post…so, let’s do this….

6 Nations Championships

Rugby! To be more precise…the 6 Nations Championships has started today! The Six Nations is an annual international rugby union competition involving 6 European sides:

  • England
  • France
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Scotland and
  • Wales

It is sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland. The current champions are England, having won the 2016 tournament.  England is playing France RIGHT now. There is no way France will beat England. It just ain’t gonna happen-(but actually the score right now is 9-9). Come on England!


As mentioned-this championship is played annually. The format is pretty simple-each team plays every other team once (making a total of 15 matches), with home ground advantage alternating from one year to the next.  If a team wins all its games-they are said to have won a ‘Grand Slam.’ Victory by any Home Nation (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland) over the other 3 Home Nations is a ‘Triple Crown.’ And while this has long been a feature of the tournament-it was not until 2006 that the physical Triple Crown trophy was awarded.

In addition, the team that finishes at the bottom of the league table is said to have ‘won’ the ‘Wooden Spoon’-which means you have come last in the competition-I don’t think they give them an actual wooden spoon-although no actual trophy is given to the team. Let’s face it-losers usually get nothing. Luckily in Rugby, they get a wooden spoon. Slowclap. And finally, a team which has lost all 5 matches is said to have been ‘whitewashed.’ So there you go, a brief overview of the six nations championship, which kicked off today. In closing… Team England! Woot Woot! That is all.

Image result for rugby 2017 England


Image result for image for 6 nations rugby 2017 England