What is Bonfire Night?

Life in London

The English are just plain weird. There I said it. Guess I will be packing my bags soon. Not really. Bonfire Night is here. Great! But what is it exactly? Well, before I explain this wacky holiday-it is important to add that many British people think Thanksgiving is a wacky holiday-which has subsequently led me to becoming a sort of Ambassador for Thanksgiving-for which I am GRATEFUL for.  I have no problem with this, I mean, Thanksgiving is an integral part of our young nation’s history. But Bonfire Night is weird, but I will let you decide for yourself. So, let’s do this.

What is Bonfire Night?

On November 5 people all across the UK celebrate Bonfire Night. This means small firework parties in back gardens or massive organised displays in public parks. The reason? Well, the reason they do it is because it’s the anniversary of an attempt to blow up the Houses…

View original post 463 more words

4 comments

  1. Sumith Babu · November 6

    Love this day!! Well expained sam.

    • samdfb1 · November 6

      And me, Sumith. Thanks! Have a bril Sunday. 😉

  2. Doctor Jonathan · November 6

    Different cultures and their different quirky holidays make this world an exciting place to live. Thank you for sharing Bonfire Night with all of us!

    • samdfb1 · November 6

      I totally agree! You are welcome Dr.Jonathan. Thanks for reading. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

