Tyson Fury (I got no love for you)

Image result for image of tyson fury

Hello and hi. Are you familiar with Tyson Fury? If not, we still cool. But before I get started…last week a reader/follower assumed that I was a boy because I had written a post about Football and my name is ‘Sam.’ Now, I am writing about Tyson Fury-the heavyweight boxing champion. I guess that confirms my ‘male’ status. Guess I should stick to writing about hair, clothes and makeup. For real. That being said, here is the latest on the great, furious Tyson Fury. Let’s do this.

While I am a fan of boxing, I am NOT a fan of Tyson Fury. I have blogged about him previously. I was pretty sure his lawyers were going to slap me with some sort of injunction, after reading what I had written about him…as I was pretty ruthless. But they probably can’t read or write either. Ouch. They may want some ice for that burn.

Seriously though, I know there is a certain amount of bravado that goes with being a boxer. I mean, Muhammed Ali was well known for this. But he was GREAT…he was the GOAT (Greatest of All Times). He was funny, self-deprecating and yes, he talked a lot of ‘smack’ but he was socially and politically aware and he was nice to old people and children in equal measure. He was pretty great. However, in my opinion, Tyson Fury is not great. I can’t even with him. Oh man, you should hear the stuff he says about women. Facepalm.

Image result for image of muhammad ali goat

Image result for image of muhammad ali goat

Tyson Fury

Tyson Fury, World heavyweight champion recently informed us that he is “here to stay” after earlier suggesting that he had retired from boxing. Erm…which is it, love? Make up your mind. Please and thanks. Fury withdrew from his 29 October rematch with Wladimir Klitschko-reportedly because of a mental health issue, and tweeted: “I’m the greatest, and I’m also retired.” Then just 3 short hours later, Fury suggested his earlier claim had been a joke, as he said:“Hahahaha, you think you will get rid of the Gypsy King that easy? Followed by:“I’m here to stay. #TheGreatest. Just shows you what the media are like. Tut tut. Soon as I get better I’ll be defending what’s mine – the heavyweight throne.”

K. First of all. You are NOT the greatest. Ali was/is. And for the record, Klitschko is a better fighter than you (and more humble too). Second. I wouldn’t exactly be calling myself a ‘Gypsy King.’ I mean, if that is who you are-great. But Gypsies don’t exactly get a fair shake in these parts (or the rest of the  world for that matter) so…best, to keep that bit of personal informaton, under wraps.  Third. Why are you taunting the media? Stop it now. No good will come of it. Later, in a subsequent tweet, Fury added: “Good news is I’m getting the right help and I’ll be back even stronger than before, try and stop me!” Well, I am glad you are getting the help you need. Perhaps focus on getting better, mate-instead of pugilistic endeavours. Just a suggestion of course.

So, Fury had been scheduled to earn the largest purse of his career, for his second fight with Klitschko at Manchester Arena, this month. He had postponed the original rematch against the Ukranian-which was scheduled for July, after injuring his ankle in training. Of course this meant that the World Boxing Organisation asked him to provided detailed reasons for his second withdrawl.

In addition, Fury (who holds the WBA and WGO titles) will also face a hearing in November for an alleged doping violation, according to the BBC. In brief, he was charged by Ukad (UK Anti-Doping Agancy) in June, after traces were allegedly found in a urine sample. Of course, Fury denied all allegations of doping but it has been alleged that he refused to give a urine sample when visited by a Ukad official…so, there’s that. And an athelete who refuses to take a test, can be banned for 4 years.

Finally, a year has passed since Fury beat Klitschko on poins to gain the WA, IBF, WGO and IBO titles. It was Klitschoko’s first loss since 2004. BTW…he is 40. Respect. Anyway, within 2 weeks, Fury was stripped of teh IBF title because he was unable (read ‘unwilling’) to fight mandatory challenger Vyacheslav Glazkov. The belt is now held by rival British heavyweight, Anthony Joshua.

So, that is it in a nutshell. Fury continues to bait the media and makes me furious at the same time. Let’s hope he gets the help he needs, in regards to his mental health issues. As for me, “I’m just a girl in the world”…cue Gwen Stefani. Please excuse me now as I try to match my handbags and shoes…so I can write about it. Yup. That is all.

Cheers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · October 4

    I know you’re a girl and I got respect for your sports knowledge. You’ve helped me keep up with some U.K. stuff so much that I referenced Man U and Tottenham in conversation last night!

    • samdfb1 · October 4

      Aww thanks, mate. Oh wow-really? Bril! Right on. 😉

Leave a Reply

