British Weather 101

Image result for image of british weather

Hello and hi. Here in the UK we talk about the weather. A lot. Not to be polite but out of necessity. Back home in the US, we talk about the weather on 2 occasions. To be polite and to be polite. Other than that, we American’s have bigger concerns…say like Donald Trump. I mean the weather is important and all but our weather is pretty consistent. The usual 4 seasons which mean:

  • Floods.
  • Hotter than heck summers.
  • Mighty snowstorms
  • Hail from the heavens.
  • High winds/Tornadoes.
  • Have I left anything out? Probably.

I would like to add that those above weather conditions fall into seasons…here in the UK, we can expereience them all in one week. Yes, yes we can…and do. And please know that when the Brits refer to ‘British Summertime’ it simply means: rain, wind, sunny spells and partially cloudy with a chance of thunderstorms.

We have been experiencing something of a heatwave lately here in the UK. Great. Not great. British people are not down with heat (mostly). I mean, if we wanted heat-we would travel abroad. I know I wrote ‘we’ but…know that I am American but…e pluribus unum. That being said, this week we saw high temps-I read that the last time it was this hot in London it was back in September 1949. Its been so hot that they have been giving out free bottles of water on the overhead train/Southeastern trains. Yes F-R-E-E. You should see me sipping my bottled water as I fan myself with fan, like some Southern Belle, as I gently perspire…but I digress.

Anyway, the heat affects us all in different ways.  Plus the heat will affect the trains as the track expands in the heat (sometimes) this means the trains can’t run properly or run at slower speeds or need to be diverted. Diverted train you say? Aint nobody got time for that. Plus on the older trains there is NO Air con. No air con on a busy train for commuters does not exactly make for making new friends. The point I am trying to make is that the hot weather is great and all-but there is a downside to it. For real. *walks off to do a raindance in her garden. *

Then we have the infamous rain here. I have seen raindrops bigger than my hand-and I am not even lying. Much. Plus, this one time (at band camp) I was in the West Midlands, it was actually raining horizontally (with help from the wind). Rain is not a joke here. But you know what? People just carry on as normal. If we had the kind of rain in America that they have in here in Britain, people would not leave their homes and would not go to work/shopping/bingo. For real.

Image result for image of british rain

In brief, on this not so small island, spring and summer are usually pleasant-with some rain. Autumn is crisp…with some rain. Winter is generally ok. It is not as cold as say, the east coast of America or Canada. But we occasionally get snow here in the UK, which of course plays havoc with our trains.

So yeah, we talk about the weather a lot here. In fact, weather people are unofficial national saints here. They are akin to holy people. One must never make direct eye contact with them. They talk and we listen.

The weather is not so bad here in the UK…just dress yourself in layers, walk with a brollie (although not when it is windy) avoid puddles, or standing too close to cars/buses who may splash you when they turn the corner- and you will be just fine. Oh and wear sunscreen. I am all about sunscreen, people. That is all.

Cheers

7 comments

  1. quiall · September 16, 2016

    Well at least it is never dull! If you lived in Hawaii you would have to get used to the same thing EVERY day. I’m just say’n . . .

    • samdfb1 · September 16, 2016

      Very true. Ahh Hawaii…have you been? If so am super jealous. 😉

  2. Laura (PA Pict) · September 16, 2016

    Yeah, I don’t miss the British climate, I must confess. Rain on the west coast of Scotland can be ceaseless for long periods.

    I would agree with you about Americans being less obsessive about weather than Brits as I think generally that’s true but then there’s The Weather Channel in the US that is very fond of hyperbole and creating drama out of very little.

    • samdfb1 · September 16, 2016

      I have heard about Scottish weather

    • samdfb1 · September 16, 2016

      …it can be bad Ive heard. Today we had massive heavy rain- people were rejoicing. I was happy as it meant that my water butt was getting full and my houseplants will finally get watered…those that haven’t died! 😉

  3. Joyce Belfort · September 24, 2016

    Wahaha 😂 a great summary.

Leave a Reply

