Hay Fever (UK)

Image result for image of someone affected by hay fever

Hello and hi. Do you suffer from hay fever? Well, if you do… I feel you. I totally understand. And here’s a tissue too. Oh my word. I am in a bad way today in regards to hay fever. Here in the UK we are having an ‘Indian summer’-unseasonably warm weather for this time of the year and very little rain. Total nightmare for people who suffer from hay fever.

So check it, I used to suffer from hay fever back home in the US but now that I live in London Town, my hayfever seems a billion times worse. Yes, a billion. Probably because there is different flora and fauna here. Just a guess. Once back home I was aked to leave the movie theatre-I was sneezing way too much for the manager’s liking. Then this one time (at band camp) I was sent home from work here in London Town because I was sneezing too much. My supervisor said I was a ‘distraction.’ Moi?  Is it because I sneeze like a cat? How dare she. Further, her thoughts were on my co workers and not ME. I walked out of there with my head held high and never came back. I kid. I returned the following day.

So, if you suffer from hay fever you probably know the symptoms. If not, here they are:

  • frequent sneezing
  • runny nose
  • itchy, red or watery eyes
  • post-nasal drip
  • itchy throat, mouth , nose and ears

I would like to add here, that I have all of the above. This makes me a most unpleasant person to be around. Normally, I am a bright, bubbly, sarcastic, snarky, well-informed person. Oh, and I am quite modest too. Hah.

The NHS (National Health Service) has  great advice on combatting hay fever on their website. So, if you suffer like me, you should check it out.  So tomorrow I will collect my new prescription allergy nasal spray from the chemist. I would do it today but the pollen count is so frickin’ high, that I might not make it. So, tomorrow I shall go-armed with tissues and a shiny upper lip. Shiny upper lip? Oh yes, I read somewhere that if you put petroleum jelly on your upper lip it traps the pollen before it enters your nose. I will of course, apply liberal amounts of petroleum jelly. I will probably look like a fool, but at least I wont be sneezing. Much.

Image result for image of someone affected by hay fever

Cheers

 

2 comments

  1. delightfulbird · September 14, 2016

    I feel your pain and snot! This year has been the worst ever for me. A long time sufferer told me it starts with tree pollen, then grass, then weeds. So its those lovely weeds we are feeling today.
    Hope the remedies help.

    • samdfb1 · September 14, 2016

      Ahh thanks. I got my new allergy tabs and spray. This means I could roll around in a field if flowers if I wanted to. Lol. Best not tempt fate. Feeling better, thanks. 😉

Leave a Reply

