200 billion daddy longlegs

Image result for image daddy long legs

Hello and hi. Meet daddy longlegs…although most refer to it as the ‘Crane Fly’. Oh my word. That picture makes me itch…and not in a good way. Sorry (not sorry) I simply do not do insects. At all. Ever. I mean, growing up-I spent my summer vacations in a place where the equator ran seamlessly beneath-so far so nice. Nice and hot. Yeah, nice until you see flying cockroaches that are 3 inches long along with other insects that are truly diabolical and dastardly in equal measure. So you can probably understand my dislike for insects. Please tell me you do.

This autumn a record number of daddy longlegs are set to arrive on this not so small island. How many? 200 billion. Please read that again. Oh my Lakshmi. I am not leaving my house. I can’t even with that imminet influx of insects. Nope.

You see, here in the UK, we have had an unusually warm September. An ‘Indian summer’ they call it. The charity Buglife has told the BBC that a combination of weather conditions this summer and autumn will most likely lead to a record number of daddy longlegs hatching in the UK. Apparently ‘record number’ means 200 billion. Yes, yes it does. Apparently these daddy longlegs have immensely enjoyed and benefitted from a pretty warm summer and just the right amount of rain. As a result, this has helped them to grow in their underground tunnels. Underground tunnels? Jesus, take the wheel. And now, apparently due to the recent burst of warm September weather, these insects now have more time to spread around the country. Slowclap. Rejoice. Really pleased.

Further, Buglife said”If we have really hot spells like we have this year, they can move around more. They are gradually spreading northwards.” Ok great, go up North then. Please just go. Buglife also added that there is really no need to worry about these daddy longlegs as they are completly harmless. Whatever. They used to say the same thing about Diet Coke. For real. Stay inside people.

Image result for image daddy long legs

Ok, enough histrionics. Here are some facts on these seemingly harmless insects:

  • The origin of the name ‘daddy longlegs’ is not known. However, some people think it may have come from a novel, by that name written in 1912.
  • They are pretty harmless. They don’t have poison and don’t bite. Whatever. The people who claim these things-who peddle this misinformation have clearly never have been bitten, so they are assuming that they don’t bite. You get me?
  • Most daddy longlegs/crane flies in the UK are ‘Tipula Paludosa’ species, which are approximately an inch long. But guess what, there are ‘monster’ Tipula Maxima species. Erm…that word ‘maxima’ should have been a hint. These critters are gi-normous. I am not even joking.
  • And guess what? Here is the cherry on the cake. You ready? You better be, as you don’t have much time. Well, apparently, these daddy longlegs prefer the warmth of homes (don’t we all?) and they are not able survive outside in the winter months. So sad, too bad.

Check it. I don’t like insects much. Could you tell? I hope I haven’t put you off. They are gentle, kind creatures. I mean, 200billion is like… nothing. So, enjoy these daddy longlegs while you can. As for me, I can’t even with these insects. That is all.

Cheers

 

 

8 comments

  1. ladyofthecakes · September 10, 2016

    Do you realise that around 2kg of your body weight is composed of bugs (mainly bacteria residing in your intestine, but also your mucous membranes, skin, etc), which vastly outnumber your body’s own cells? You’re under siege, inside and out šŸ˜‰

    • samdfb1 · September 10, 2016

      Say what now? Please tell me that you are joking? Lying or just generally misinformed (which I doubt as we are ‘sisters’). Yikes. Under siege all right. Oh and guess what I heard? If you eat a fig, a wasp most likely died in it. Guess who is no longer eating figs ? Me, that’s who. I am done with figs. But they are rather nice! šŸ˜‰

      • ladyofthecakes · September 10, 2016

        I love figs. Wasps are extra protein. And probably seasoning šŸ˜‰ Fine by me šŸ™‚

      • samdfb1 · September 10, 2016

        Yikes. really scared now. Walking away very slowly…;)

  2. nbratscott · September 13, 2016

    Iceland?

    • samdfb1 · September 13, 2016

      Iceland? Am not sure what you mean, mate…

      • nbratscott · September 13, 2016

        It’s cold. Less bugs!?

      • samdfb1 · September 13, 2016

        Ahh of course. Headed there now…bloody hot here today.

Leave a Reply

