An Awesome Accent

Image result for image of lady cora from downton abbey

Hello and hi. Someone once told me that I had an ‘awesome accent.’ I found this mildly amusing as I do not consider myself to have an accent at all. You see, I hail form the Eastern Seaboard in the United States (the East Coast) and my accent is not as strong as my American brothers and sisters who live down South, up North or in the Midwest.

So I don’t really consider my accent overly American, as it is ‘soft.’ And while I am understandably American in my habits and preferences-this is not so in my speech and the words I use, to describe something. That being said, I rarely notice British accents (maybe I have been here too long). Allow me to rephrase that-I rarely notice English accents-however, Scottish and Welsh accents are distinctly different and certainly get my attention. Further, sometimes when Scottish people speak to me, I have a hard time understanding them-their accent mixed with the words/slang Β that they use and which I have not heard before or am unfamiliar with. In fact, I have no idea of what they are even saying. I usually nod and smile sweetly. This would explain why I now own 3 bagpipes and 2 highland sheep. I kid.

Accents are kind of a big deal here in the UK. The moment you open your mouth to speak-the person you are talking to, will know where you are from, what type of school you went to and probably your profession. Crazy, right? But the same could be said back home in the US. But on this not so small island, when you speak , you are of course heard, listened to and probably judged. You subsequently receive a label. Good luck trying to shed the label bestowed upon you. Anyway,Β  I have heard the following many times:

  • ‘Oh he has a posh accent’
  • ‘Guess he went to public school’ (public school means ‘private’ here)
  • ‘I think he is from East London’
  • And the list goes on…judge much? Yup, pretty much.

Am not sure if people are just curious or they mean to judge you, right off the bat. Perhaps it is a combination of the two.

Recently, it was reported that Donna Air’s-(a tv personality, model and she has probably written a cook book too) accent has changed dramatically. You see Donna Air is originally from Newcastle. These days, our Donna is dating the brother of Kate Middleton-James Middleton. They say her accent is terribly posh now and there is not a trace of her Newcastle accent (Geordie accent) left. This is probably because she is hanging out with the Middletons who of course hang out with the royal family. I mean, when in Rome…right? It seems only natural that Donna’s accent was going to change. Here is the lovely couple pictured below.

Image result for image of donna air and james middleton

Uggh, I can’t even with James’ beard, but I digress, as per usual.

Like I said, I barely notice accents anymore. But usually my American accent will raise eyebrows. My own family members tell me- that in person and over the phone I sound American but when I am in England I sound very English. Sheesh. Again, when in Rome..right? That being said, I was once told that I sounded like Lady Cora from Downton Abbey. When I heard that, I gave a rather genteel smile and said, ‘Thank you ever so much. That is terribly kind of you’ in my best British English… but the American voice in my head said, ‘Cool! Thanks. Gee! Really nice of ya’…and of course there was an ‘Awesome!’ Thrown in for good measure. I mean…I am an American. Lady Crawley, I am not. Nope.

Anyway, if I were you- I wouldn’t pay too much attention to people’s accents or try to figure out their entire life story from their accent. Just listen deliberately and speak using measured tones. In brief: Speak your truth. That is all.

Cheers

 

12 comments

  1. ladieswholunchreviews · September 4, 2016

    Very true, I’m from the Midwest and I’d say we have the least accent, although there’s still a flat sound to our voices, or so I’m told! It’s sad how judgmental people can be!

    • samdfb1 · September 4, 2016

      Ah cool. Where in the Midwest?Judgemental people..ugh..I can’t even with them. Have a great Sunday!

      • ladieswholunchreviews · September 4, 2016

        The western suburbs of Chicago. Family is a bit spread out now. My sis is in Virginia Beach and I have stepdaughters in NC and TN. You have a great weekend, too!

      • samdfb1 · September 4, 2016

        Ahh cool. VA Beach I am familar with but have never been to NC or TN…there’s still time!;)

      • ladieswholunchreviews · September 4, 2016

        Oh, yes, and I’ve never been to Great Britain, but it’s on my list!

      • samdfb1 · September 5, 2016

        You should totally come. My earlier posts are about British food, culture, travel etc. But lately its been stuff thats in the news. Have a look in the archives-should be easy to find. πŸ˜‰

      • ladieswholunchreviews · September 5, 2016

        Thanks, I’ll check them out. Hubby is a hard sell, always about warmth and the tropics so I go with him to Hawaii or the Caribbean cause I’m good that way! πŸ˜‰

      • samdfb1 · September 5, 2016

        Lol. I hear you. Wife of the year! Respect. The summer months are pretty good here.. I would avoid winter like the plague. πŸ˜‰

  2. ✜ yipie_dreamer ✜ · October 7, 2016

    I’m learning British accent ☺ can I practice with this this post as a script? I will show you πŸ˜ƒ

    • samdfb1 · October 7, 2016

      Glad you are practicing. Perhaps travelling to the UK might be a better way of practicing? Thanks for reading. How will you be using my post as a script? Thanks for letting me know, mate. πŸ˜‰

      • ✜ yipie_dreamer ✜ · October 7, 2016

        I will read your post aloud and upload it on YouTube πŸ˜„

      • samdfb1 · October 7, 2016

        Erm…I prefer if you DO NOT upload on YouTube. If I wanted it on YouTube-I would’ve put it there myself. Thanks for understanding. Actually-you will find many great videos on English accents on YouTube (not mine) have a look. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

