Brixton Vintage Kilo Sale

Hello and hi. This upcoming weekend it is entirely possible that you will find me at Brixton Market-pictured above. Love this place. I go there from time to time to select from a wide variety of fresh fruit and vegetables, not grown on this not so small island. Oh and hair products too aimed at people like me. People like me? Yes, people like me have hair that goes mad, at the slightest amount of moisture in the air, commonly associated with precipitation. Rain people, I am talking about rain. With rain, I will get ‘the frizz.’ And unless, I am the love child of Diana Ross-which I am not-then, this is not the look for me. Also, when the sun beats down on my raven-black hair, it will often give me coffee-coloured streaks. There are hair products for that along with other hair maladies. For real. But I digress.

After I have purchased my fruit and vegetables-and of course my much needed hair products, I will aimlessly peruse the other stalls to see what is on offer. Prices are fluid and haggling…I mean ‘negotiating’ is acceptable. Believe you me, if I think a lime is worth 15 pence and not 45 pence, I am going to try to convice the market lime seller, otherwise. And I do. Mostly.

Then I will normally pass headless, plucked chickens who were once bold and bodacious in their former life-but now sadly, hang from a sturdy string as they are dastardly displayed in death. Which quite frankly, makes my vegetarian gut wretch. Post dead chickens there will be fish displayed on ice, with their eyes and mouths open, perfectly capturing the moment when they were plucked from the sea. Post fish, there will be slabs of beef hanging by an antiquated metal hook. At this point, I bite the inside of my cheek, keep my eyes on the ground and hope that I make it out alive. The struggle is real.

Brixton market is a vibrant street market located in South London, Brixton. It is best known for its Caribbean and African produce-which accurately reflects the diverse community of the people who live there and in surrounding areas of Lambeth. There was some controversary in Brixton Market back in 2009 with the selling of live African snails. But sales were slow. So, they have stopped that now.

Quick anecdote: one time when I was in the Ivory Coast, I saw what I thought was a wall ornament on a living room wall-a massive shell of a snail. By mid-afternoon, it was gone. I later found it in the kitchen. Oh. My. Word. But, I digress.

Brixton Vintage Kilo Sale

So yeah, after my perusing of products of the market stalls I will head over to the Brixton Vintage Kilo Sale. How fun. There I will pay Β£15 per kilo for a bunch of vintage clothes. Erm…I have no idea what a kilo is. I am American. My people deal in gallons. But I am told, that I could maybe get an outfit for Β£15. Am terribly excited. And while there will be no Mulberry boots there, I should be able to get some pretty good stuff.

Brixton market is a vibrant place. If you come to London (and I hope you do) you should check it out-it is not exactly on the tourist trail but you should definitely check it out. If you want to know more about it, read about here at: Brixton Vintage Kilo Sale

Cheers

12 comments

  1. healthyindiankitchen · August 17, 2016

    It was great to know about the brixton market!😊

    • samdfb1 · August 17, 2016

      Welcome! It is pretty great there. πŸ˜‰

  2. Fiona · August 17, 2016

    1 kg = 2,20462 pounds πŸ˜‰

    • samdfb1 · August 17, 2016

      Thanks! I shall never forget it now. πŸ˜‰

      • Fiona · August 17, 2016

        Wahaha! Me neither….

      • samdfb1 · August 17, 2016

        πŸ˜‰

  3. LdF · August 19, 2016

    How is the food fare at the indoor n outdoor restaurants? I hear the Jamaican shops offer their famous ackee n salt fish dishes.

    • samdfb1 · August 19, 2016

      Well…speaking from previous personal experience…the food is nice and tasty. Ask for the ladee with the pink hair. Also…dont ask her if her husband is her brother. I hope my helpful hints help. πŸ˜‰

  4. Tooting Hustle · March 5

    I havent been to one of these vintage kilo sales before. I knew there was one in Islington but I’ve never gone because it was too far, now I know there is one in Brixton I have no excuse haha. Great piece!

    If you’re interested in Charity shopping in South London, I’ve just written a review on Octavia Foundation, Tooting. Have a read and spread the word on the good work that they do: tootinghustle.wordpress.com

    Happy blogging x

    • samdfb1 · March 6

      Oh great. Happy to help! Thanks for the read. Oh man, I am all about Charity shopping in South London. For real. Will def read your review re Octavia Foundation…and the spread the word. Happy Monday! Cheers.

      • Tooting Hustle · March 6

        Thank you! And good places to visit, let me know. You seem like an expert πŸ™‚

      • samdfb1 · March 6

        Welcome. Well….an expert in saving money while looking ‘dope’. Lol. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

