Big Girl (You are beautiful)

Hello and hi. Some people body shame others. Those people are not good people, in my opinion. Recently, back home in the US, there was a woman at a gym, who took a picture of another woman (without her permission) and basically called her fat, ugly and more as she posted it on social media for the world to see. The police are now looking for the woman whose picture was taken and will be asking her if she wishes to press charges. As for the photographer, she is terribly embarrased and has now offered a heartfelt apology. Well, I hope she feels bad. But really now, all this malarky about women’s weight, it makes me tired. And when I am tired, I eat cake. It is a wonder that I am not 400lbs. For real.

What is the ideal size for a woman? How long is a piece of string? Do you see the point I am making? I certainly hope so. Sorry (not sorry) but I am sick to death of what the ideal body size of a woman should be. Come.On. And guess what, everyone has an opinon. Men, women, grandmothers, children, pet rabbits, et al.  Please know that when you comment about other people’s weight, it affects them. When I was growing up, my ballet teachers told me to lose weight. They said I was too ‘muscular.’ Please know that in the ballet world, that ‘muscular’ means ‘fat’…well, in this context anyway. But you know what? I could pirouette on my pointe shoes like nobody’s business.

So when my fellow ballet people were eating dehydrated fruit, nuts and water…I was eating twinkies and washing it down with diet coke…simply because I was 14 years old. My days of eating twinkies and drinking diet coke are well and truly over. I am more a hummus and sparkling water sort of girl now. But I digress.

Recently Meghan Trainor pulled her video from YouTube. She had been photoshopped to look skinny. Well, she certainly did something about it-she pulled her video and explained that that was not her real body. So, Meghan Trainor has ‘junk in her trunk’ who cares? She is beautiful and has a good voice. And she is probably nice to her Mum and gives up her seat on the bus to old people. So in my book-she is a good person. Yes, yes she is.

And sorry (not sorry) some women look like they need a burger. Those women have empty lunchboxes. There is nothing wrong with having a little junk in their trunk. And now there is all this talk about waist trainers ( a modern day word for a corset). What the what? If you knew the history of the corset, you would be horrified. In brief, the word corset is derived from the Old French word corps and the diminutive of body-which itself derives from corpus-Latin for ‘body.’ Interestingly, French women wore quilted waistcoats- as an alternative to corsets. 

Some people with spinal problems will wear a corset to protect and mobilise their torso. Andy Warhol was shot in 1968- and never recovered fully from his injuries and wore a corset for the rest of his life. But mostly, people wear corset’s because…well, societal expectations. Corset’s are serioulsy bad for you and can have detrimental effects on your liver, stomach, colon, uterus et al. I mean, who has time for all that? I mean, if you wear a corset-we still cool. I wont judge you-but please don’t gush about it and insist that I too, must wear one. I wear what I want. I do what I want. Yup.

But guess what? Some celebs out there promote corsets/waist trainers. Enter Dita Von Teese and Kim Kardashian. Both beautiful women. Both crazier than a box of frogs. Check out this picture of Dita below. See that forced smile? That is hunger, people.

Oh and then there is KK. She recently remarked on how tiny her waist looked. Slowclap. Her exact words were: ‘doesn’t my waist look photoshopped?’ Well, perhaps. But in this picture honey boo girl-child, you look like a dimestore hooker. Yes, yes you do.

Konfident! Kim Kardashian stepped out LA wearing a LBD and custom Yeezy thigh-high boots on WednesdayKonfident! Kim Kardashian stepped out LA wearing a LBD and custom Yeezy thigh-high boots on Wednesday

I can’t even with KK. Famous for being famous. Uggh. Jesus take the wheel.

Conclusion

The point I am trying to make, albeit with a rant about corsets, is that if you are comfortable in your own skin, then that is cool. That is all you need. Love is all you need. Love yourself. Check yourself before you wreck yourself. Here’s to all the women with a bit of junk in their trunks. I support you. Also, this video by Mika-filmed in London, is for you too (and everyone else for that matter). And as for those of you who body shame women: get yourself to the butterfly lounge and find yourself a big lady.

 

*quietly steps off soap box and reaches for a piece of cake. Yup

Cheers

6 comments

  1. ladyofthecakes · August 11, 2016

    Mika sounds just like Robbie Williams… at least in this clip

    • samdfb1 · August 11, 2016

      actually he does! I wonder what Mika is doing now? I liked his quirky, honest singing stlye.

      • ladyofthecakes · August 11, 2016

        Whatever he’s doing, it won’t be fat women… 😉

      • samdfb1 · August 11, 2016

        Cheah! Right? Ouch. Lol. 😉

  2. quiall · August 11, 2016

    I so agree! I am 50, fat and fabulous!

Leave a Reply

