Downton Abbey is…

Hello and hi. Downton Abbey is no longer on the telly. *heavy sigh. Reaches for the remote to watch Breaking Bad on Netflix (again). And that being the case, Highclere castle (pictured above) is no longer receiving any money-as they used to rent out their lovely home/castle/estate for filming and production purposes for Downton Abbey. So, what’s an Earl and Countess to do? Their cash flow has come to an abrupt halt. Dear me…land rich and money poor. Please let me have that problem in my next life.

The Earl and Countess of Carnarvon have decided to raise some much needed funds to keep Highclere castle, pictured above, running. Yeah I need some Mulberry boots-do you see me out and about with my begging bowl? No, I don’t think so.  Pictured below are the Mulberry boots I need in my life.

Anyway, the lovely couple are planning a Vintage garden party (to raise money) in September. They will welcome guests for tours and a traditional fete. This is what their letter/invite said:

Please do come dressed in period or vintage clothing from Edwardian times, the era for the first season of Downton Abbey…kindly choose from ‘upstairs’ or ‘downstaris’ and we can provide details of costume hire companies, so that if you don’t have a costume at the back of your wardrobe-this may be a good option for you.

How very quaint.  Mind you, the tickets will cost £120 ($158.71) and you will receive:

  • picnic box with a Highclere sandwich
  • traditional pork pie
  • home-made cupcake
  • bottle of water
  • glass of Pimms

Well, that all sounds very nice. But for £120 I am expecting, lobster, caviar, chocolate covered strawberries and a chocolate fountain (to bathe in). I mean, it sounds like a fun idea but I wont be attending. £120? Come. On. I adore period dressing and and am currently rocking the 1940’s look…but to dress like they did back in the Edwardian period? Err…no thanks.

1940’s dress

Dress from the Edwardian period

Like I said, it sounds like a fun thing to do on a September weekend. And if you don’t mind parting with £120 for a picnic lunch, well then, you should totally  do it. Oh and if you are comfortable parting with that kind of money, just know this…we still cool. That is all.

Cheers

 

 

 

 

 

13 comments

  1. LdF · July 31

    That’s why u were dubbed the bag lady, never mind I will get u the M boots

    • samdfb1 · August 1

      OK! I look forward to receiving them. And as you know- a ladee must match her shoes and handbags. You have been warned, Dad. 😉

  2. Laura (PA Pict) · July 31

    I think it’s a very smart fundraising idea and I’m sure it will do well. It certainly appeals to me but I couldn’t part with that amount of cash (ticket plus costume expense) for something so incidental. I’m sure many will though.

    • samdfb1 · August 1

      I agree, very smart fundraising idea-I wonder how many people will get involved with this.

      • Laura (PA Pict) · August 1

        People seem to be nuts for Downton Abbey so I expect this first one will go very well. People move on to new obsessions quickly though so it may not be sustainable annually.

      • samdfb1 · August 1

        Very true. I wonder how much money they will make. Takes loads of money to run a big house like Highclere…I am told. Of course I have no idea what it costs but am guessing it is a lot of money.

  3. nbratscott · August 1

    No one needs boots that will hurt their feet!!!! How about a nice pair of high-top sneakers?

    • samdfb1 · August 1

      Well, perhaps. But I really need those boots, as winter is coming. So…how many pairs of high-top sneakers do you have? 😉

      • nbratscott · August 1

        I don’t have a single pair of high top sneakers. I thought they were a solution to your need since they a coming into fashion in the States.
        I do own a very nice, COMFORTABLE pair of hiking boots.

      • samdfb1 · August 2

        ok thanks. I too, own a pair of comfy hiking boots…although I have no idea where they are! 😉

  4. Yvonne · August 1

    Downton Abbey may have faded into the sunset, but we’re having reruns of Mr Selfridge, with that dishy Jeremy Piven.

    • samdfb1 · August 1

      Ahh, cool. Have not seen that program as yet-but hear it is very good!

  5. Yvonne · August 1

    ’tis!!!

Leave a Reply

