My 4th of July (in England)

Hello and hi. There are few days that I actually get homesick-but yesterday was one of those days. I was terribly excited when I woke up, after all-it was the 4th of July! As I sipped a cup of tea, I cast my mind back on previous 4th’s, which had included BBQ’s, Budweiser, laughter and delicious gossip with friends. Oh and fireworks too.

For me, it was the usualy 9-5 grind. I wished a stranger ‘Happy 4th of July!’ but that was only after stepping on the back of their shoe by accident (see Dad, you are not the only one). They politely quipped ‘I don’t see why this is such a BIG day for YOU lot.’ I eyed the stranger with deliberate suspicion and smiled a rather genteel smile. To be honest, I did not have the time or inclination to wax lyrical about the significance of this very important day to my lot/people. Plus, I was hungry, and I needed to conserve my energy.

Later in the day, I worked on the preface for my novel. Now that my novel is largely written, I just have a couple of things to do-which included writing the gosh darn preface. I found writing it difficult, which was surprising as I normally write like it is an Olympic sport. But I managed to finish it, with the help of my editor-Ma and her trusty sidekick ‘C.’ Then I did some legal research and pondered the legality of BREXIT and Article 50 and wondered what role Parliamentary Sovereignty played in this almighty mess, left to us by those who voted LEAVE. Thankfully, some solicitors at Mishcon de Reya are looking into commencing pre-emptive legal action over BREXIT, on behalf of an anonymous group of clients-so, I think it will be sorted and am pretty sure they wont need any help from me. Trust me, they most certainly know what they are doing over at Mischon de Reya. Yes, yes they do.

In the evening, I had fish wraps/tacos and watermelon for dinner. I HAD to have watermelon, I mean, it was the 4th of July. As I ate, I thought about my own people having watermelon on this day,  along with baked beans, and other delish American foods. I enjoyed my watermelon, mind you, it was the smallest watermelon in the UK, at the size of a grapefruit-but I enjoyed it.

Later on, I watched ‘Bloodlines’ on Netflix and wondered what Nigel Farage would do next-and figured he would probably change his mind about stepping down, as per usual. Total flip-flop that bloke.  I rang me auld Ma and sent my Pa an email before going to bed. So, that was my 4th of July-a day like any other, but not for me. God Bless America. E Pluribus Unum.

See ya

2 comments

  1. Laura (PA Pict) · July 5, 2016

    When my husband was the (half) American living in the UK, we would mark Independence Day on the following weekend. It’s obviously not quite the same but it’s similar. For what it’s worth, there was no barbecuing or even eating outdoors for us yesterday as it was pouring rain from afternoon onwards. We still went to a local fireworks display but got absolutely drenched doing so and that atmosphere wasn’t very festive.

    • samdfb1 · July 5, 2016

      Ahh. Yes, my Mom said it was pouring rain in MD too. Glad you got to see some fireworks though. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

