GOAT FASHION(UK)

 

Hello and hi. I recently had a birthday. I am officially an ‘old bird’ as they say on this side on the pond. And how old am I exactly? Well, there are THREE things that you must NEVER ask a woman: her shoe size, weight or her age. That being said, my recent birthday got me thinking about some changes I wanted make. I would like to start wearing more dresses and skirts. yes, Mother you read that right. I think I would like to be more of a ‘ladee.’ And while I will never be a genteel English lady, living in the countryside, drinking tea and eating Victoria Sponge Cake…I can at least try. Lord knows, I.can.try. That being said, I set my task on calibrating my current style.

So yeah, currently I wear trousers, brogues and long sleeved t-shirts from the GAP. Mostly dark colours too. No English woman, living in the countryside wears such an assemble. Trust me on that one. So, the style that I am kind of grooving to at the mo(ment) is the 1960’s look. You know, the A-line dresses/skirts made of a healthy mix of polyester and cotton. I mean, I have only come to realise that when you wear polyester clothing…well, there is NO need for ironing. Imagine my delight. I was pretty delighted. For example, I like this dress:

 

and this one too…

So , my musings turned me towards eBay where there were loads of great vintage dresses at great prices. Yeah. Then I stated looking at GOAT. Goat Fashion is a London based womenswear label, and was founded in 2001 by Jane Lewis as a small range of tailored separates and knits using cashmere, wool and silk yarns. No polyester in sight-but that was ok. Pictured below is a dress by GOAT.

 

Nice-right? Well, at £380 it SHOULD be nice. Good grief. Decided to keep on looking…I then found our Kate, I mean…The Duchess of Cambridge wearing a dress by Goat. Just great. Wonder how much that frock cost? And more importantly, did she have to save up to get it or did she have someone pick it up and pay for it? I think I know the answer.

Oh dear, Goat fashion is kind of out my price range. And really now, how will I look in these oh so fine dresses? Will I look something like this?

 

And while Goat is a lovely retro-vintage type label (although there is no polyester)  am afraid it is out of my price range…for now. Lovely frocks though-real nice. So am back to my trousers, long sleeved t-shirts from the GAP and brogues. Sorry, Ma.

Cheers

 

6 comments

  1. quiall · July 3, 2016

    Happy Birthday! Be true to yourself. You do the best version of you!

    • samdfb1 · July 4, 2016

      Thanks! Very true-you are so right! Xx

  2. Yvonne · July 4, 2016

    Well, Happy Birthday, young ladee.

    • samdfb1 · July 4, 2016

      Ahh thanking you Yvonne! 😉

  3. nbratscott · July 4, 2016

    You know…..you might just be starting a new English countryside lady’s look!!!

Leave a Reply

