“The Special One”

 

Hey and hi. Here I go again with my limited knowledge of ‘the beautiful game’. So as you may or may not know, Jose Mourinho is about to be named manager for Manchester United. There have been a few glitches though. Yikes. I hate glitches. You see, apparently,  image rights negotiations are delaying Mourinho’s appointment as Manchester United Manager. As it has emerged that Chelsea still own his name as a trademark and could demand a six-figure sum from United before any deal is concluded. But really, this issue will not scupper his appointment at Old Trafford. Thank goodness. Mourinho is expected to be named as Louis Van Gaal’s replacement after the Dutchman was sacked on Monday DESPITE winning the FA Cup. Football is crazy. I don’t even watch it and I know very little about it. But you wouldn’t know it. Hah.

Oh, I nearly forgot why I even started this blog post. Ok, let’s do this. They call Jose Mourinho ‘The Special One.’ Yes. Why? Please give me a break. Is he really that special? While I was not looking-has he found a cure for breast cancer, the Zika virus and Lyme disease? Am guessing, no. What has he done that is so spectacularly wonderful? Please enlighten me. Please and thanks.

Well, believe it or not, Mourinho gave himself that name/moniker. Yes, yes he did. I could have told you he was arrogant (and I have done so in previous posts). When Mourinho moved to Chelsea in June 2004, he held a press conference upon joining the club and said, “Please don’t call me arrogant, but I’m European champion and I think I’m the special one.” Can you believe he said that? So, the media has dubbed him “The Special One.” I would like to give Mourinho the benefit of the doubt here-I mean, his first language is Portuguese and English is not his native tongue. But sorry, most Portuguese speak English perfectly well. I don’t think there were translation issues here. The guy is just arrogant. Yes, yes he is. But anyway, Good luck to him. I may not like the guy but I don’t have any ill will towards him. So yeah, that is why he is called ‘The Special One.’ And knowledge, is power, people.

Cheers

 

 

18 comments

  1. kutukamus · July 29, 2016

    He made that one up? And the press comply? Combination-wise.. Yep, that’s rare! 🙂

    • samdfb1 · July 30, 2016

      Indeed. Yup. Thanks for the read. 😉

  2. healthyindiankitchen · August 1, 2016

    I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. Please visit the link https://healthyindiankitchen.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/sunshine-blogger-award-and-black-cat-blue-sea-title/
    for more details. Thanks!!

    • samdfb1 · August 1, 2016

      Ahh many thanks! Very kind of you. Cheers. 😉

  3. Phil Taylor · August 25, 2016

    I saw the title and assumed you were writing about me. Very disappointed.

    • samdfb1 · August 25, 2016

      Sorry! Was hoping you were so busy selling your house that you wouldnt have time to read this post. My bad. Sorry, mate. 😉

  4. Four nil – ’nuff said. 😉

    • samdfb1 · October 24

      True dat. But…..;)

      • Life! Right? The return match will be interesting. 🙂

      • samdfb1 · October 24

        It will be! I may even watch. Maybe…if there is nothing else on the telly…and I mean NOTHING. Lol. 😉

      • Hahaha – maybe stick to American Football. 😉

      • samdfb1 · October 24

        Right? Exactly. Did you watch yesterday at Twickenham?

      • Is that where they play tennis?

      • samdfb1 · October 24

        Erm…nope. Wimbledon,mate. 😉

      • Cubs getting through to the World Series for the first time in over 70 years – how about that! 🙂

      • samdfb1 · October 24

        Yup. Pretty cool. 103 years to be exact…I think. 😉

      • I think 103 years since they won it and 71 years since they got that far? That’s a loooooong time!

      • samdfb1 · October 24

        Yes. I think you are right. Waayy too long!

Leave a Reply

