University Fees (UK)

Female graduates

Salutations. University Fees. Uggh. The end. But seriously, everyone bemoans University Fees-both here and in the US. Tuition is WAY too high. In fact, I had a cousin who recently graduated from Princeton University. And while Princeton is a great school, its tuition fees are eye-wateringly diabolically high. In fact, if my cousin were to rob a bank, lets say that I would not be that surprised. For real.

Here in the UK, University Fees have had an interesting history. Tuition fees in the UK were INTRODUCED across the entire UK in 1998 under the Labour government as a means of funding tuition to undergraduate and postgraduate students at universities. Yes. Please read that again. Later on, tuition fee caps rose with the Higher Education Act 2004-under the Act, Universities in England could begin to charge variable fees of up to £3000 a year for students enrolling on courses as from the academic year of 2006-7. Wow. Then when University fees rose to 5K people began to loose their minds. I found it amazing. I thought those people should have been grateful to only pay 5K. But then again, if one was never expected to pay tuition then had to commence paying tuition, then I can see why they got mad. I get it. I don’t understand it, but I get it.

Current situation

Universities in England will now be able to increase tuition fees above £9000 from Autumn 2017. Yes, ‘Autumn’-they don’t say ‘Fall’ here. Anyway, it is believed that the increased tuition will ensure high-quality teaching. Further, the plans aim to encourage more competition and better consumer value for students. The government will announce in 2016-2017 which Universities are allowed to increase their fees. Sorana Vieru, vice president of the National Union of Students, said students would be “outraged” at the prospect of tuition fees being increased. Well I suppose so. Better not apply to ANY American Universities then. Don’t even think about Princeton.

That being said, maintenance grants/loans are available for students. Of course, you have to repay your student loans. Duh. One last thing, if there are any American college bound students looking to study abroad for F-R-E-E well then, Germany is your best bet. Look into it, I would if I were you. That is all.

Cheers.

 

 

 

.

 

11 comments

  1. Laura (PA Pict) · May 18, 2016

    This is a subject I am pretty passionate about. Because I came from a poor background, I could only go into tertiary education because my fees were covered and I qualified to receive a grant. Even then, I was surviving on very little money and had to work night shifts to make ends meet but it was enough to enable me to embark on a graduate and then postgraduate degree. The fear of debt (especially since I was going on to become a teacher, not exactly mega-bucks money) would have prevented me embarking on that education had I had to take out loans every year. It concerns me, therefore, that students from my sort of background are probably being put off applying to university in droves because they don’t have the financial backing to take the financial risk of doing so.

    • samdfb1 · May 18, 2016

      Yes i think they might be put off by the fees. Apprenticeships are seen as an alternative-but are hard to get and there is no guarantee of a job afterwards. On another note they say the moral of ‘breaking bad’ is that you should pay teachers more money. Hah. Teachers are not paid enough in my opinion.

      • Laura (PA Pict) · May 18, 2016

        I think people consider teaching an easy job because it looks like short hours with long holidays but I once calculated my hourly rate by dividing my salary into the hours I actually did and it was below minimum wage, considerably so.

      • samdfb1 · May 18, 2016

        It is not at all an easy job. I wish more people knew that.

  2. Melissa · June 26, 2016

    I never understood how some countries could just offer uni education for free but I think it would be the best thing to do. I believe Sweden also offers uni degrees for free, I looked into doing a masters there but then decided against it. In Canada tuition fees are probably around what the UK is paying now. We get loans so it isn’t too bad but of course not ideal. I will be done paying off my loan within 5 years and that is by making the minimum payment and I had 2 years break when I went back to study so not too bad. However when I return to Canada I want to study again so back in debt I go.

    • samdfb1 · June 26, 2016

      Very true-I had considered Canada for Uni. It would have been nice-i have family there but…dang, its way too cold there-of course there were other reasons I didnt apply. Ahh debt-who needs or wants it , but it goes hand in hand when pursuing s degree. Yikes.

      • Melissa · June 26, 2016

        It is very cold in winter but then you get snow! You could do it for a short time. Go visit tho.

  3. Angelique Mol · October 16

    Beside Germany there are a few other countries who have Free Universities. I think knowledge should be free, like it used to be….or at least, more affordable so Everyone is able to attend Uni and so it not takes you Years to pay back the loan once you finally start to “earn” money out of your degree. Lot of students end up even doing another job or profession as they can’t find a job in the field they’re graduated in…..I think the Fees are way over board 😉

    • samdfb1 · October 16

      Oh that’s great that there are other countries besides Germany-who have free Uni’s. I completely agree with you. It is simply not affordable and who really wants to spend a large portion of their pay packet to repay loans? Uggh. Thanks for the read! 😉

  4. Joyce Belfort · December 14

    At least the ‘protesters’ are civilised. Have you read the news from South Africa? My home country has gone CRAZY and savage.

    • samdfb1 · December 14

      I have. I do like to keep up with the news in South Africa. Have even written a few posts about South Africa. Good point-more or less ‘civilised.’

Leave a Reply

