Traditional English Tea Sandwiches

Greetings. Sorry but, there is nothing better than a Peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Even when you put a spoon in a jar of peanut butter it is pretty great-mind you, it can be difficult to talk when you have a mouth full of peanut butter but believe me you…I get by. Hah! Thought I would survey traditional English Tea sandwiches today- and while none of them include peanut butter, they are pretty darn good. Ok, let’s commence-shall we?

Cucumber sandwich

Pretty basic. Pretty good.  And the ingredients? Plain white bread, butter and cucumber. Of course if you want a fancy cucumber sarnie/sandwich (who doesn’t?) then you can add mint and herbed butter. Yum.

Smoked Salmon

Oh gosh. Traditionally, smoked salmon sandwiches are served with dill and crème fraiche (love that stuff) on pumpernickel bread. If you can’t find any crème fraiche you could use mayo but I highly recommend crème fraiche.

Egg Salad

A personal favourite of mine. Eggs are required. Duh. And chive butter is a nice touch. I’ve heard.

Watercress egg-salad

This is just. so. good. It is known as a ‘egg and cress’ salad. And I hear they even serve it at Harrods. Again, I have heard this. It might be true-I normally get Krispy Kreme donuts when I go to Harrods. For real.

Other traditional English tea sandwiches include: chicken salad, tuna salad with capers and tuna salad with celery. There are others of course but I have listed the most popular ones. Truth be told, I like my food and I have a HEALTHY appetite. Could this be why NOTHING fits me at Zara? Ahh…please don’t answer that!

Oh and if you find yourself at Harrods while in London Town, empty your wallet and grab a sandwich-you wont be disappointed. I mean, you wont have any money left for the rest of your trip/vacay, but at least you wont be HUNGRY.

 

 

Cheers

6 comments

  1. Laura (PA Pict) · May 9, 2016

    Confession: I don’t like PBJ sandwiches. I do, however, adore egg and cress sandwiches. Other fillings I make for tea sandwiches are coronation chicken (minus the raisins) and tuna sweetcorn. I am not a fan of cucumber sandwiches because of the texture but I have munched a few in my time.

    • samdfb1 · May 9, 2016

      Ahh. Confession received and accepted. Cool. Egg and cress is amazing-simple but good. Coronation chicken is good too but you haven’t lived (in my opinion) if you haven’t had a hot pocket. Just sayin’. 😉

      • Laura (PA Pict) · May 9, 2016

        If I ever take the plunge and try a hot pocket, I shall be sure to let you know. 😛

      • samdfb1 · May 9, 2016

        Fantastic news!

  2. Yvonne · May 10, 2016

    Crikey, those prices made my eyes water!

    J’adore curried egg sandwiches on nice fresh bread.

    • samdfb1 · May 10, 2016

      Those prices are ‘cray cray’ or crazy. Ooh curried egg sarnies are fab!

Leave a Reply

