Zara (UK)

Greetings. Have you been to Zara? There is probably one near you. I just love Zara. Sadly, nothing fits me there. Why is this? Well for starters, they have a basic misunderstanding of women’s bodies and proportion size. Yes. Yes, they do. I am of average height and average weight-and while I am no ‘skinny minnie’ I am not a plus sized model either. I am a regular sized person. Just. Like. You.  That being said, the heaviest thing about me is the lashings of black mascara I wear. Oh, I am not the wife of an evangelical preacher (Tammy Faye La Valley Bakker Messner) but I do like my mascara.  Back to Zara. Nothing fits me (or any other woman on planet earth) at Zara because the clothes there are ridiculously small. If Barbie was a real human, she would have to wear spanx just to get into clothes from Zara. For real.

A brief history of Zara

Zara is a Spanish clothing and accessories retailer based in Arteixo, Galicia and was founded in 1975. Amacio Ortega opened the first Zara store in downton A Coruna, Galicia, Spain. Ortega initially named the store Zorba after the classic film Zorba the Greek, but after learning there was a bar with the same name just two blocks way, he had to act fast-so he rearranged the letters molded for the sign to ‘Zara.’ It is believed that the extra ‘a’ came from an additional set of letters that had been made for the company. The first store featured low-priced lookalike products of popular, higher-end clothing fashions. Later, Ortega changed the design, manufacturing and distribution process to reduce lead times and reach to new trends in a quicker way, which he called ‘instant fashions.’

Zara stores sell men’s, women’s and children’s clothing. Zara’s products are supplied based on consumer trends. Its highly responsive supply chain ships new products to stores twice a week. Wow. After products are designed, they take 10-15 days to reach the stores. All of the clothing in stores is processed through the distribution centre in Spain. New items are inspected, sorted, tagged and loaded into trucks. In many cases, clothing is delivered within 48 hours. Clothes that don’t fit, that is. They do have lovely scarves, shoes and handbags. At least THOSE fit me.

Zara has over 2100 stores spread out over 88 countries.  There are 68 Zara stores in the UK and 68 in the US.

Even our Kate, I mean the Duchess of Cambridge, wears clothes from Zara. Mind you, she is a size 2. How is this possible? She has had 2 children, a full time mum with only 1 maid, 2 nannies and 3 cooks. Where does she find time to maintain her figure? Awww, look at me all ‘green.’ She looks good. End of. Pictures do not lie.

Another picture of our Kate, wearing a necklace from Zara. Oh la la.

Another glam picture of our Kate, although she is not wearing Zara but rather a Jenny Packham gown. Ugh. How green am I? Green with envy. Yes. Yes, I am.

So, go to Zara if you are a ‘skinny minnie’ but really now, the Gap is your best bet if you are a REAL woman. Also, try Banana Republic and Massimo Dutti. As for Zara, may I recommend going there only for handbags and other accessories. That is all.

Cheers

4 comments

  1. nbratscott · May 5, 2016

    They have nothing in my size either!

    • samdfb1 · May 5, 2016

      Oh dear. I guess people like us-have to shop elsewhere for our tutu’s. ;).

      • nbratscott · May 5, 2016

        I made mine myself….42 yards of tulle!

      • samdfb1 · May 5, 2016

        Wow. Am so impressed!

Leave a Reply

