Norway II

Greetings. Ever since I blogged about a Lasse Mattberg, a Viking demi-God (gift to women/proof that Jesus exists)  I’ve got Norway on my mind. Yes. Yes, I do. Normally, I’ve got Georgia on my mind. Get it? The song sung by Ray Charles? Please tell me you’ve heard it or else we can’t be friends. Anyway, Norway. Let me tell you how GREAT Norway is. You are welcome.

Norway is achingly beautiful and serene in equal measure. I mean, pictures do not lie.  Home to natural wonders, stunning cities and really HAPPY people. In fact, Norway is one of the happiest places on earth. Well, hot damn. If everyone looked like Lasse Mattberg, then I can understand why they are so happy there. But seriously, in the UN’s 2013 World Happiness Report, Norway took the second place spot. The report surveyed 156 countries and considered the following factors: life expectancy, health ,freedom and social support. Oh, you want to know who took the number ONE spot? I don’t know. But I know it was NOT Norway-they came 2nd.

norway

Also, Norway is a pretty safe place. Both the crime and murder rate are low in Norway. As one wise law student once explained, ‘happy people just don’t shoot their husbands.’ Very true. You just gotta love law students.

Then there is ‘allemannsrett’ which translates to ‘all men’s rights.’ In brief, it is a ‘freedom to roam’ public rights law allowing the right of access to and passage through all uncultivated land. This means that you can simply pitch a tent or hike through any land that is ‘utmark’ (non-cultivated).

Norway is just gorgeous. As you can see pictured below, Trolltunga provides the perfect photo op.

trolltunga

Then you’ve got Fredrikstad Fortress. It is an ancient wonderland, as you can see. Fredrikstad Fortress claims to be one of the best preserved old towns in Scandinavia. Here it is pictured below.

gamlebyen

Also in Norway, you will find  adorable cabins, used by fishermen-you can even stay in one if you like. Better like the smell of fish though. Just sayin’

fishing cabin norway

Then, in the summer you will be able to see a midnight sun. With 24 hours of visible sun which occurs during the summer in northern Norway (which sits on the Artic Circle). The midnight sun is a pretty incredible sight, I am told, and leaves more hours in the day for fishing, boating, exploring and blogging.

midnight sun norway

And did you know that Norway is regarded as the birthplace of skiing? Yes. Yes, it is. And knowledge is power, people. In fact, early evidence of modern skiing has been found in Norway. The word ‘ski’ actually comes from Old Norse and roughly translates to ‘split piece of wood.’

Plus, Norway boasts of the longest tunnel at 24.5km. Err…. 24.5km? Oh please, I am American-you do know that I have no idea what a km is. My people deal in miles and gallons. Truth. But 24.5km seems pretty long.

lærdal road tunnel

And of course, you can see the Northern Lights in Norway. Just so amazingly cool .

lofoten islands

Plus in Norway, they have wild reindeer and polar bears. I mean, that pretty much sealed the deal for me. I am so coming, Norway-you ready for me?

wild reindeer norway

polar bears svalbard

Now down to the nitty gritty. The national drink of Norway is Aquavit. It is a potato-based spirit flavoured with herbs. I hear it is pretty hardcore. I have never tried it but am willing to give it the ‘old college try.’

norwegian aquavit

Oh, I have only just touched the surface here about Norway. Go for yourself and see how utterly fantastic Norway is with its 240,000 islands and a coastline that stretches over 64,000 miles. I might just see you there. And when I do, I might even say: Hei kompis or Hey Friend!

Cheers/ Ha det bra

 

Leave a Reply

