Divorce Cakes

When ‘I do’ turns to ‘I did’ you get yourself a divorce cake.  Divorce cakes are happening all over the world, including the UK. Yes, divorce cakes are a thing. I have the pictures to prove it. I mean, I know a lot about cake and eat cake pretty much all the time, but to eat a slice of a divorce cake would leave a bad taste in my mouth. I suppose, we are all different and have different coping mechanisms when it comes down to traumatic events but sorry…this is just weird. But hey, if you want to have your divorce cake and eat it too, be my guest. That is all.

Woops: Recently, a baker shared a photo of her 'very first divorce cake' which showed a male wedding topper pushing his bride off the top and onto the ground 

Spritely yet spiteful: The divorce cake wedding trend has been on the rise for the past 12 monthsSpritely yet spiteful: The divorce cake wedding trend has been on the rise for the past 12 months

Mud cake grave: One groom cake topper was burying his wife in a cake grave 

Freedom: Another cake was topped with a bride donning in gloves punching her groom in the face and completed with blood red icing dripping down the sides

Garbage: Many of the cakes saw bride toppers dragging groom toppers to the trash 

Newly unwed: 'Because when things are that bad & your divorce papers arrive, celebration is a must!' One woman wrote next to her cake, which was topped with a doll holding a sign saying 'finally I'm free'

Not just women: 'Unhitched from the witch,' one cake read, which was iced with a picture of a witch flying into the starry night

 

Cheers

8 comments

  1. Fiona · March 3, 2016

    I agree that this doesn’t leave a good taste. I gather this “tradition” started in Japan. Some of those cakes are amazing. I didn’t want cake to celebrate my divorce, there were much more fun ways to celebrate. Mind you, there’s none so queer as folks.

    • samdfb1 · March 3, 2016

      Right? There are many ways to celebrate divorce-cake would come last on my list. I agree with you-these cakes are amazing but I think these cake makers should use their powers for good only.

      • Fiona · March 3, 2016

        Agreed…

      • samdfb1 · March 3, 2016

        😉

  2. Laura (PA Pict) · March 3, 2016

    I get celebrating divorce in many contexts. No problem with that. Everyone deserves to be happy. I find it peculiar that people would choose to mark it with cake though since it mirrors a wedding tradition. Any excuse to eat cake though, right? I love cake. My husband is lucky I love him more than cake. Just.

    • samdfb1 · March 3, 2016

      I agree with you, everyone deserves to be happy. It is a bit strange (like you’ve said) to celebrate a divorce in the same way you would celebrate a marriage. Cake is good-right? Can you believe that Red Velvet Cake has only recently been on the supermarket shelves here? Oh I have loved Red Velvet cake forever. BTW, tonight we are having Sticky Toffee Pudding for afters-not exactly cake but still really good and perfect for cold winter nights.

      • Laura (PA Pict) · March 3, 2016

        Oh how I love sticky toffee pudding. Enjoy!

      • samdfb1 · March 3, 2016

        I did!

Leave a Reply

