Royal Eyebrows

Royal eyebrows. Yes, this topic made the news today. Good grief. I, like many women have had a love-hate relationship with my brows. I have plucked, tweezed, waxed and threaded the heck of my eyebrows. I have gone to fancy places to do my brows like Harrods and less fancy places like kiosks in the mall for EVERYONE to see the torture I inflict on myself twice a month. The results are the same. I have less hair than I started with and I am red and blotchy for 30 minutes afterwards. Sheesh. The struggle is real. Anyway, our Kate-I mean the Duchess of Cambridge goes through this process as well. See, we are no different.

The papers are saying her brows are not bril. They make her look old, they age her. These are not nice things to say about ANY woman. Including a Duchess. Come on. I will let you be the judge. Let’s do this.

Over the years, the Duchess of Cambridge's eyebrows have changed beyond all recognition — and not always for the better

APRIL 2011: For the Royal Wedding, Kate’s brows are thicker, straighter and darker than ever before. She can get away with the dark shading as she’s tanned and wearing white, which reflects light across her face, but the very straight shape makes her face look more masculineFEBRUARY 2011: Kate’s brows are far thicker than we’ve seen before. She’s used an eyebrow pencil to make them so dark they almost match her black scarf. ‘They’ve been filled in quite a lot,’ says Shavata. The lack of arch flattens her face and makes her cheeks appear to sag

AUGUST 2012: Kate looks like she’s been at the tweezers again, plucking away the outer edges. The result is ageing, narrowing her eyes and making her forehead and nose look wider. ‘I’d like the brows to end a little further down,’ explains Shavata. ‘She’d look a lot better'JUNE 2011: Tanned and smiling, just back from honeymoon, she’s reverted to a more natural look — with only a faint hint of brown shadow filling in the gaps. She’s allowed her brows to grow out in both directions, too, which makes her eyes look wider. A winner!

OCTOBER 2015: There’s a touch of the Sophia Loren here — heavily made-up and carefully shaped into bold, dark arches for the visit of the Chinese President. Combined with her mauve eye make-up, it saps her youthful glow and seems heavy-handed for a daytime eventDECEMBER 2015: She’s swapped the dark eyebrow make-up for a much lighter shade, perfectly matched to her almost auburn hair. They are still a little flat, but are less overpowering and lift her face, particularly on the left, where there is a slightly more prominent arch

This was Kate on Sunday. The experts are saying that her thick, dark brows detract from her natural beauty. Goodness. Leave the woman alone I say. And that’s coming from me. Now that is really saying something.

THIS WEEK Her most recent look is a controversial one, with some saying the thick, dark brows detract from Kate’s natural beauty. ‘These are a feature of their own, rather than just framing the eyes,’ says Shavata. ‘They are too bold and don’t look even. I’d love to get my hands on them'

 

Cheers

8 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · February 9, 2016

    Women worry too much about tiny details no one else notices. Unless they are blatantly drawn on and done so badly, I have never noticed or had a thought about women’s brows.

    • samdfb1 · February 9, 2016

      omg. yeah for you Phil! 😉

  2. Yvonne · February 9, 2016

    Amen, Phil! No wonder so many women are insecure about their appearance when someone so pretty is criticised by the media. Enough, already. Let’s pick on Charles for a change.

    • samdfb1 · February 9, 2016

      Lol. Amen indeed! And so appropriate for Pancake Tuesday-the ‘Amen’ not the brows. Pick on Charles you say? Watch this space Yvonne. 😉

      • Yvonne · February 9, 2016

        I’ll be here, Sam.

      • samdfb1 · February 9, 2016

        Yes. I know. Thanks! 😉

  3. Meena · February 14, 2016

    I found you on the SITS GIRLS’ link up.
    Life in London caught my eye. I do love England and have visited many times.
    Just dropping a line to say “hello.”

    -Meena
    http://www.anchoredinsweets.com/

    P.S. Royal eyebrows, indeed. My eyebrows will beat her eyebrows any day of the week.
    I challenge her to a brow-off!

    • samdfb1 · February 15, 2016

      Wahaha! I mean she looks good for a Mama with 2 littles. But those brows…she can do better. Thanks for stopping by! p.s. I also have another blog which is just about Kate Middleton. https://allaboutkatemiddleton.wordpress.com/ Happy Monday! 😉

Leave a Reply

