Engagement Rings

Valentine’s Day is nearly upon us and I am all about love, romance, proposals and misplacing my glasses. I can never find my glasses. But enough about me. Recently in the news we have been subjected to engagement rings worth a little more than the average person earns in their lifetime. Enter Mariah Carey and Jerry Hall. Oh, there are more to be sure. But walk with me as we discover the engagement rings of yesteryear. You are welcome.

Pictured below is Jackie Kennedy’s engagement ring. It has 2 main stones and surrounded by marquise cut diamonds. It has an estimated value of $1.39 million dollars.

Unique design: JFK picked out this stunning ring featuring a 2.88 carat diamond and a 2.84 carat emerald for Jackie with the help of his father Joseph 

 

Unforgettable jewels: The beautiful ring, which also features round brilliant and marquise cut diamonds in addition to its two main stones, has an estimated value of $1.39 million

Next we have Princess Grace. I have always thought she was so effortlessly beautiful. Am sure I am not alone in thinking this. Her engagement ring is stunning and features a 10.47 emerald cut diamond. It has an estimated value of $4.3 million dollars.

Dazzling: Princess Grace's engagement ring features a stunning 10.47 carat emerald cut diamond, and now has an estimated value of $4.3 millon

 

Made for a star: Prince Rainier first proposed to the actress with a more modest ring, but he upgraded to this stunning design after he realized other actresses were boasting much larger diamonds 

Next we have Queen Elizabeth. She met her husband when she was just 13 years old at the wedding of his cousin, Princess Marina of Greece. The engagement ring has a rather elegant design and features a 3 carat cut brilliant cut diamond.

Throughtful touch: Prince Philip has the platinum and diamond engagement ring using diamonds that were taken from a tiara worn by his mother, Princess Andrew of Greece and Denmark

Elegant design: Queen Elizabeth's ring  features a three carat brilliant cut diamond as the center stone set in an eight claw coronet setting

Next we have Liz Taylor’s engagement ring.  I will let the pictures do all the talking.

Larger than life: Richard proposed to Elizabeth with a massive platinum and 33.19 carat diamond ring 

Namesake: The massive diamond, which was formerly known as 'The Krupp Diamond' was later renamed 'The Elizabeth Taylor Diamond'

And of course… we have our Kate. I mean, the Duchess of Cambridge. I think we all know the history of her engagement ring.

Family heirloom: Prince William proposed to Kate with a beautiful 12 carat blue Ceylon sapphire ring that belonged to his mother, Princess Diana 

 

Worth the price: While the ring was purchased for $40,000 in 1981, it is now estimated to be worth $430,000

Notice she does not have any split-ends? Please let me be a Princess in my NEXT life.

Cheers

 

 

9 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · January 30, 2016

    I think men should also be given a ridiculously expensive gift at engagement as well.

    • samdfb1 · January 30, 2016

      Yes! You are so right. And tell me this Phil, what is the deal with ‘promise’ rings? Do you know the meaning/significance?

      • Phil Taylor · January 30, 2016

        I think the promise rings are a ridiculous exercise. It’s supposed to be a sign of a serious relationship, but it’s mostly just a promise to spend more money at a jewelry store.

      • samdfb1 · January 30, 2016

        Bwhahaha. Good one. I have a feeling you are not alone in this way of thinking. 😉

  2. Yvonne · January 30, 2016

    I got stuck on the photo of Liz Taylor. Would you look at all the glasses in front of her!? 🙂

    • samdfb1 · January 30, 2016

      Oh how funny-I didn’t even notice. I was amazed at her tan. I mean did they even have tanning beds back then?

      • Yvonne · January 30, 2016

        Not that I recall!

  3. Charlotte · January 30, 2016

    Princess Grace and Princess Kate’s engagement rings are my favorite! So elegant and beautiful. But my god… the value on any of these rings (never mind Mariah Carey’s monstrosity of a ring) is unbelievable. I would never want to leave the house!

    Thanks for this–stopping in from SITS Sharefest and hope you are enjoying your weekend 🙂

    • samdfb1 · January 30, 2016

      Right? And if I did leave my house I would have armed guards. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

