Eyebrows (in the UK)

Eyebrows. We all have them. Eyebrows are a necessary evil. Oh sure, they look nice. They frame your face and other stuff too. But eyebrows require A LOT of work. And these days if you are a girl or a bloke, you tend to put great value on maintaining your bushy brows. But if you don’t-that’s cool too. As for me, I have waxed, threaded and plucked myself silly. I no longer thread-it is way too painful. Plucking is out too, I get carried away. That leaves me with wax. In the past, I have been burned with wax. The scab made me look like a zombie. I kid not. I couldn’t leave my house for 7 days after that mishap. The struggle is real.

Pictured above is the British model Cara Delevingne. Apparently, we girls are supposed to have eyebrows like her. Check out Mae West’s eyebrows pictured below-back then those eyebrows were THE standard of beauty. Oh I just don’t know. Right about now am thinking a uni-brow would not be so bad. Yes. 1 long eyebrow. Connected in the middle. Maybe not.

Enter 2015. Enter botox. Say what? Yup. Botox has the ability to change your eyebrow shape, whether you want it or NOT. Check this out. Cosmetic experts say that when you use botox, you get a surprised look on your face. Good grief. This surprised look manifests itself with one raised eyebrow. LA dermatologist Laurence Osman said “this can happen when the small opposing muscles that pull each eyebrow UP and DOWN end up falling out of balance.” OMG. This occurs when Botox is placed at the tail end of the brow, but not in the forehead, meaning one brow can lift higher than the frozen one. It is important to note that not everyone with a wayward brow has used Botox. Maybe they were born that way. Unlikely. So, Botox can and does affect your eyebrows. They call it ‘highbrow.’ You can see this effect on a lot of celebs. Am not sure why they do it. They are already beautiful. But money lasts while looks fade. Anyway, I present you with the visual evidence. You are welcome.

Kylie Minougue

I should be so plucky: Pop princess Kylie Minogue, 47, seems to have acquired one permanently arched eyebrow along with a very smooth forehead. She said in an interview: ‘I’ve tried Botox. I’ve tried it all. I think it doesn’t have the stigma it had when I was growing up. For all time women have wanted to, for the most part, look their best.’ Cosmetic surgeon Dr Alex Karidis said that there are clear signs of Botox use. ‘One of Kylie’s brows is slightly more arched and higher than the other — a telltale sign'

Nicole Kidman

Eyes wide open: Actress Nicole Kidman, 48, seems to be raising one eyebrow — yet at the same time her forehead remains surprisingly smooth. However, the star of film Eyes Wide Shut has always denied having Botox or any kind of fillers. In 2007, she said: ‘I am completely natural. I have nothing in my face or anything. I wear sunscreen and I don’t smoke. I take care of myself. And I’m very proud to say that.’ And, of course, there’s nothing surprising about that

Kate Winslet

Titanic arch: Oscar-WINNER Kate Winslet, 40, has a very quizzical expression, with one brow extremely arched. However, she insists she is happy to embrace all the changes that age has brought and denies all suggestions of surgery or Botox as ‘100 per cent not true’

Courtney Cox

Courteney shocks: What has startled Courteney Cox, 51-year-old star of TV series Friends and the Scream films? She looks as smooth as a doll, and admits: ‘Sometimes I use Botox. I don’t have a problem with any of that stuff if it makes you feel better'

Priscilla Presley

All shook up: Priscilla Presley’s left brow has a pronounced arch compared with her right. The ex-wife of Elvis, 70, was once treated by an unqualified plastic surgeon who injected her with industrial silicone. She seems to have had tweaks since, hence her raised eyebrow

Jessica Lange

The Lange view: Some speculate that 66-year-old King Kong actress Jessica Lange has had a browlift, eye lift and cheek implants, plus fillers and Botox. Plastic surgeon Dr Anthony Youn commented: ‘She would look a whole lot better if she would lay off the Botox,’ but her agent says: ‘It’s absolutely not true'

Sharon Osborne

The X-pressive factor: It’s no secret Sharon Osbourne, 63, is partial to a bit of ‘work’ — she’s had a face lift, liposuction, breast enlargement, bottom lift, gastric band, tummy tuck and eye lift, at a cost of £120,000, and has said: ‘I think Botox is one of the best things to be created in plastic surgery'

I think you get the point. I think you’ve SEEN enough. I know I have. Grow old gracefully people. Wear your wrinkles, smile lines and crows-feet like a badge of honour. I know I do.  For real.

Cheers

One comment

  1. Yvonne · December 15, 2015

    Jeez, Louise!

Leave a Reply

