Tradition (in the UK)

Tradition. Cue the song from Fiddler on the Roof ‘Tradition.’ Please tell me you are familiar with this song or else we can’t be friends. I kid. Tradition is England spelled backward. In Greek. Not really. The point I am trying to make is that tradition is the very life-blood of England. It defines the very psyche of the Brits. Recently, the leader of the Labour Party, Jeremy Corbyn who is not that popular but it is important to respect his mandate(Whatever that may be) threw tradition out the window. Anyway, Jeremy Corbyn was sworn in as a member of the Privy council-it is a formal body of advisers to the Sovereign of the United Kingdom. Once you become a member of the Privy Council you are then referred to as: The Right Honourable. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the definition of the word privy in Privy Council is obsolete meaning “of pertaining exclusively to a person or persons, one’s own-hence the Council is personal to the sovereign. It is closely related to the word private, and derives from the French word privé.

Now back to Jeremy Corybn. Finally. So, the illustrious Jeremy Corybn became a member of the Privy Council. Of course the ceremony is shrouded in secrecy and tradition in equal measure. Who knows what really goes on-I mean, they could be playing Connect Four and I would actually believe it. Anyway, at the close of the ceremony, one is meant to bow before the Queen. It is reported that Jeremy Corbyn DID NOT bow before the Queen. What the what? Check this out, a while back I was protesting on the Mall in response to the treatment of Tibetans by the Chinese. I had a placard and everything. Anyway, who should come driving past me but none other than the Queen herself. We locked eyes, I smiled broadly showing all my teeth. Then I bowed. I was protesting against the UK government (not the Queen) but I still bowed. As for Jeremy, he can not say the same. When being sworn in to the Privy Council, he stood before the Queen. He did not bow. However, it is understood that he did kiss her hand. Er…gross. Good grief. Get it together Jeremy Corbyn. I mean, you are BRITISH-you should know these things. It is called TRADITION. That is all.

Pictured below: someone-NOT Jeremy Corbyn kneeling before the Queen.

Cheers Y’all

Leave a Reply

