British Desserts

You are welcome. For the above picture of the trifle. I mean. I know a thing or five about the law, and how to ride the Underground without making eye contact as I help old ladies with their suitcases. But the thing I know the MOST about is food.  As a life long foodie, I hold my head high (as I suck my stomach in).  Allow me to take you on a journey of some British desserts.  Please don’t be cross with me if you gain a few kilos (pounds) after reading this.  Enough talk-let’s get started.

1. Bakewell Tart

English confection consisting of a shortcrust pastry with a layer of jam and a sponge using ground almonds. A cherry bakewell is a variation of this and has a cherry on top. Surprise. Pretty much everyone eats cherry bakewells. Posting a picture of this makes me want to eat one right now.

2. Banoffee pie

I have only had this once or twice but it was enough to hook me. Hook. Line. And Sinker.  Honestly, it is the sort of food that I imagine Angels eat on the daily. An English dessert pie made from bananas, cream and toffee from boiled condensed milk either on a pastry base or one made from crumbled biscuits and butter.

3. Eton Mess

This is beyond fab.  is a traditional English dessert consisting of a mixture of strawberries, blueberries pieces of meringue, and cream which is traditionally served at Eton College’s annual cricket game against the pupils of  Harrow School. The dish has been known by this name since the 19th century.

4.  Knickerbocker Glory

A knickerbocker glory is a layered ice cream sundae that is served in a large tall conical glass to be eaten with a distinctive long spoon. If you don’t like ice cream sundaes, well then, we can’t be friends. Sorry.

5. Batenberg Cake

This is one of my personal favourites. It is said that it was invented in 1884 in honour of Queen Victoria’s granddaughter to the German Prince Louis of Battenberg and a dessert was born. Thank you Queen Victoria.  It is a light sponge cake with the pieces covered in jam. The cake is covered in marzipan and, when cut in cross section, displays a distinctive two-by-two check pattern alternately coloured pink and yellow.

6. Eccles Cakes

Oh, I love these too.  I am human after all. Eccles is named after the town in Greater Manchester where they have been making them since the 1700’s.  small, round cake filled with currants and made flaky pastry with butter, sometimes topped  Demerara sugar.

7. Spotted Dick

I know right? When you are as childish  and churlish as me (ok am not so churlish) you cant’ say this  without smiling or sniggering.  But seriously, it is a very yummy dessert.  Spotted dick is a cylindrical pudding popular in Britain, containing dried fruit and commonly served with custard. It is made from a flat sheet of suet pastry sprinkled with currants and raisins, which is then rolled up into a circular pudding.  It  is a steamed pudding/dessert.

St George's Day: Spotted Dick with clotted cream and custard

Well, I hope you are well and truly stuffed to the gills with the knowledge of British desserts after reading this.  Of course there are loads more.  Maybe after my 10 mile run and consumption of Flat Belly Water, I will blog about more British desserts.

Cheers Y’all

10 comments

  1. hinessightblog · August 8, 2015

    Found you from SITS today. Love the desserts. And yes, I’m laughing at the last one, too.

    • samdfb1 · August 8, 2015

      Hah-larious right? Thanks for stopping by!

  2. adrianscrazylife · August 9, 2015

    Banoffee pie looks like it would be my favorite. We had an Irish boy here in July and we got him totally hooked on Lucky Charms, sadly, the nation has banned it from the island for cultural reasons, so he can’t have it until he comes back to visit. I think it’s funny to watch those videos on YouTube of people trying desserts from other countries. It’s hilarious how disgusting they seem to find them.

    • samdfb1 · August 9, 2015

      Ahhh Lucky Charms-so magically delicious. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Lisa @ Fun Money Mom · October 10, 2015

    These all look so good! I love the Batenberg cake…the checkers look so cool!

    • samdfb1 · October 10, 2015

      And tastes good too! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Akaleistar · October 10, 2015

    Banoffee pie looks heavenly!

    • samdfb1 · October 10, 2015

      It is! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Sarah C. · October 13, 2015

    Oh wow these look good! Going to pin for future reference. I made one trip a couple years ago to England and enjoyed it. Hoping to make another visit in the future. Thanks for sharing! (And the giggle.)

    • samdfb1 · October 13, 2015

      Great! I can personally verify that all of these desserts are amazing! What can I say? There is MORE of me to love as a result of eating all of the above. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

