A day in the life of Her Majesty the Queen

Before I examine a day in the life of Her Majesty the Queen, allow me to wish her a happy belated birthday! 89 years old! Wow, that is some achievement.  I feel well within my right to wish the Queen a happy birthday. We locked eyes once.  I even wrote her a letter-and she responded! I will def. have to blog about THAT.  But anyway, hope you had a fab birthday Liz.  for real.

At 89 years of age, the Queen still maintains a hectic schedule.  But she does manage to go to the races when she has the time.  She is quite busy but has always been an enthusiastic equestrian.  Sadly, due to a knee injury she had to give up presiding over Trooping the Colour (more on that later) but she does ride from time to time.  She is mad for horses that girl. Mad respect of course. Once a keen polo player, she now prefers to watch now instead.  I think we’ve all been there.  I myself enjoy polo far more when I am watching as opposed to playing. Just saying.

As mentioned, the Queen is 89 years old (her Mum lived to 102).  Am not sure about breakfast-am sure she eats it but I simply don’t have any intel on that meal of the day.  But a typical lunch is  grilled Dover Sole served with wilted greens.  At tea which is around 4pm,  the Queen will have sandwiches-at least 2 different kinds.  Supper is later and is usually fish or game (usually pheasant) from her Windsor estate at Sandringham or Balmoral.  I personally, have never had pheasant but I hear it tastes just like chicken.  Between lunch and supper-the Queen’s afternoons are spent welcoming incoming ambassadors to Buckingham Palace or performing investitures.  Or she will visit countries where she is the head of State-but she has cut down on her travelling, she is 89 after all.  So, most days are spent at the Palace doing royal stuff listed above.

The Queen is the most followed Royal and her Twitter account  is @BritishMonarchy and she has 970,000 followers.  Wow.  I only have 17 followers on Twitter but then again, I am not a Queen.  She seems like a fun Gran.  She likes going to horse races, takes ‘selfies’ and recently photobombed some teenagers. Check it out…

So, the Queen will be 90 next year or rather she will be a nonagenarian. And this is how she feels about it:

Cheers Y’all

4 comments

  1. Yvonne · April 22, 2015

    I wish I had her lovely complexion!

    • samdfb1 · April 22, 2015

      Ditto. That is the complexion of good living. For real.

  2. akaleistar · April 25, 2015

    What an interesting post! I love the photobombing pic 🙂

    • samdfb1 · April 25, 2015

      Thanks! And thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

