Meet Mr. Fox

Foxes in London. Oh my goodness.  They are only cute for approximately 7 minutes-and only when they are cubs. See picture above.  After that, they can be complete vixens if you know what I mean.  Sorry to sound a bit ratty (grumpy) but I did not sleep well last night as there were foxes in my garden.  Back home we keep foxes in zoos, where they belong.  Instead, we let skunks and racoons roam free.  I am pretty sure they are tame compared to their cousin Mr. Fox.

Allow me to walk you through the early hours of this morning when I should have been in REM.  First, the sound. They cry, whimper and sniffle.  They imitate nails down a chalkboard.  They sound like they are eating glass.  It is really that bad.  Next, they go through my rubbish.  They don’t even put the lid back on which is quite rude if you ask me.  I actually got up out of my bed to look out the window to tell them to keep it down. The fox actually looked at me-we made eye contact.  This is what he said to me (I mean if he could speak).  ‘Do you mind? I would like some privacy as I go through your rubbish bins.  Also, what gives Yank? No chicken bones? Come on.’  And with that, he looked away and continue to go through the trash making horrible noises-at one point it sounded like there was a baby crying.

Speaking of babies.  A while back in London Town, during the summer and during the DAY a fox entered a  room through an open window and attacked a baby as it slept in its crib. OMG. This would never happen to me.  There are no babies in my house and I have no windows.  Just kidding. I have windows.  But seriously, they are dangerous.  I know that some people feed them-they leave food out for them.  This is wrong on many levels.  Leave the foxes alone people and keep your windows closed.  For real.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/9860356/Previous-fox-attacks-on-children.html

Cheers Y’all

16 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · March 27, 2015

    When I was there I noticed that some Brits are entirely too enamored of the critters they should just leave alone.

    • samdfb1 · March 27, 2015

      Yes, yes and yes Phil. You hit the nail on the head. I mean, do you feed skunks and racoons back home? Please say ‘no’.

      • Phil Taylor · March 27, 2015

        No I don’t. Nor do I leave food out for foxes either. I see them occasionally in the wild but I leave them alone. You were absolutely right. The little ones are cute but once they grow up they’re pretty ratty looking.

      • samdfb1 · March 27, 2015

        yep. BTW. You reblogged a post from a friend of yours. omg. It caused me to spit my tea over my keyboard. She was very funny! I like finding new stuff. Thanks!

      • Phil Taylor · March 27, 2015

        I’ll tell her how much you liked it. She really is funny. Give her a follow. She’ll be thrilled.

      • samdfb1 · March 27, 2015

        oh great, thanks. Am already one of her 3 followers. I just know she will have loads more.

  2. html · March 27, 2015

    I think you said the foxes were in your backyard (garden), (you have a 7 foot fence) and they went through your rubbish, which is in the front yard, were there two set of vixens?

    • samdfb1 · March 27, 2015

      The foxes were in the front garden. You know the layout of my garden quite well. Reveal yourself. 😉

  3. Howard · March 27, 2015

    Sorry you slept badly, Sam…

    We do get foxes occasionally, but badgers more often. A friend lent me a night video camera triggered by motion detection, and I caught some great ‘footage’. Night after night there was old Mr (or Mrs) Brock trundling down the traditional (but invisible to us) pathway. Did you know that some badger trackways go back centuries?

    When they build new motorways the engineers honour the old badger paths by building little tunnels under the carriageways, so the badgers can continue to use their traditional routes. I know why I love living in this country…

    • samdfb1 · March 27, 2015

      How cool. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a badger. City girl problems H. X

  4. Debbie Christiansen · March 28, 2015

    My next door neighbor leaves food out for the skunks, and any other creatures she feels sorry for. Just two days ago my son was walking to the bus and thought there was a dog at the end of the driveway. It was a fox. Luckily it ran off instead of eating his leg.

    • samdfb1 · March 28, 2015

      Oh gosh. Your son is lucky he has all of his limbs! People don’t give ME food when they feel sorry for me. I just get pity looks. SMH.

  5. The expression on the fox’s face in that last photo is too funny. Looks like it’s saying “yeah, we’re cute and annoying,” what of it?

    I hope you get some sleep. 🙂

    • samdfb1 · March 28, 2015

      So funny! You must speak ‘fox’. I did manage to get some sleep after I had a staring contest with a wild animal. I don’t even know who won, I was too tired to care.

  6. Kate @mrsdiggerhound · April 25, 2015

    Here here! Well said. Yes cute as cubs but then they grow up and turned mangy! Oh how people love to feed the poor little harmless foxies. Walt Disney has a lot to answer for (only kidding love a bit of Disney), but in cartoons they are cute. In real life carry ticks, fleas and who knows what else. AND their poop, arghhh it stinks and my dog loves to roll in it when he sees it! I 100% agree leave well alone,they are wild animals and not meant to cutesy and tamed, people feed them etc and then wonder why we have problems with them.

    • samdfb1 · April 25, 2015

      Yes! I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Leave a Reply

