Mothering Sunday

It was Mother’s Day here in the UK this past Sunday but they call it ‘Mothering Sunday’ instead.  I bought both my Mother and Mother-in-law a card.  Me auld Ma lives in the US and Mother’s Day is (I dunno when-does this make me a bad daughter?) so I had to buy me Mum’s card now as they wont sell them later. Are you with me?  As for my Mother-in-law, I got her a card and a plant because she is an English rose, she really is.  She graciously accepted her card and plant then offered to make me a cup of tea.  When an English person offers to make you a cup of tea, ALWAYS accept.  It was a lovely cup of tea served in a china cup and not a mug.  That is just how she rolls, that English rose.

Mother’s Day around the world is usually a day when Mothers are lavished with gifts and flowers from their children.  A sort of ‘thanks.’  It is a nice sentiment.  The origins of Mother’s Day in the UK is as follows. It was a sort of compassionate holiday for the working classes in England.  Around Lent, servants and trade workers were allowed to travel back to their home towns to visit their families.  Also, Mothering Day provided a one day reprieve from fasting and penance of Lent (Thank God), so that families across England could enjoy a family meal together where the Mother was the guest of honour.  Mums were presented with cakes and flowers and were visited by their children, who lived both near and far.

Happy Mothering Sunday Y’all

11 comments

  1. Howard · March 18, 2015

    Yes, Mothering Sunday on which the Brits and (I think) a number of other Commonwealth countries choose to celebrate Mother’s Day, is three Sundays before Easter, and of course Easter, the date of which is calculated according to a complicated lunar calendar, is a Moveable Feast. So Mum’s Day moves around quite a bit as well.

    Mom’s Day in the States (established by Miss Anna Jarvis in 1913 [what a great shame she was not a mom herself – – but I suppose it shows she didn’t do it out of personal interest, kudos to her]) is fixed to the 2nd Sunday in May. So be warned, dear Americans living in the UK, this is always later than Mum’s Day, and cards will have disappeared from the shops by the time of the American celebration. So buy them at the earlier date, and hold on to them to send later,

    S, I bet your English rose MIL feels herself thrice-blessed to have you as her DIL. No, three-times-thrice blessed. I would.

    • samdfb1 · March 18, 2015

      Hah! I hoped so. For without her, I would not be able to make stuffed hearts, lamb and boiled liver and bacon. Never mind I am a vegetarian. Details H, just details. You are well? x

  2. samdfb1 · March 18, 2015

    *hope so

  3. Howard · March 18, 2015

    Blimey! Those things have the status of State Secrets. MI5 will be after you. But I think you are now naturalized?

    Re the post-pacemaker condition : I’m fine, though my left shoulder and breast are a a bit sore and achey, sort of as if I had delivered a very forceful tackle in rugby. But don’t tell my wife I’m fine – I’m playing it for all it’s worth, groan loudly and piteously whenever she comes in. I am a man, after all.

    • samdfb1 · March 18, 2015

      hah! yes, milk it for all its worth. How funny at Boots they sell ‘man sized tissues’ because as we know, men are the biggest babies around and tend to cry elephant tears. Not judging. H. Not at all. x

      • Howard · March 18, 2015

        Well, you are completely right. It is an established fact that men are total wimps in comparison to women, and I should know. End of.

      • samdfb1 · March 18, 2015

        funny. I just posted a blog on the UK budget. I am writing like a crazed author today or at least like someone who can put a sentence together. Hah. x

      • samdfb1 · March 18, 2015

        *crazed writer I meant. I am no author. Yet….

      • samdfb1 · March 20, 2015

        Did you read my blog post on Charles and Camilla H?

      • samdfb1 · March 20, 2015

        Are you pacing yourself mate, with that pacemaker? Please try to avoid doing a 5K today. That would be great. x

  4. samdfb1 · May 9, 2015

    Reblogged this on Life in London and commented:

    Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

