Wealthy people in the UK

Rich people in England fascinate me.  They are a different breed. They are not a dying breed as they tend to marry other rich people and procreate. There are different levels of wealth here in England.  First, we have the aristocrats.  Think Downton Abbey. They do exist and live in a similar type of house (although much of it is leased to the National Trust for tours. Hey, rich people gotta eat too).  Most of these people are land rich and money poor. I guess we all have a cross to bear. Also, these people are born with titles.  These titles are then passed down to the men in their families.  Sorry girls, you have always known the rules but not to worry your rich Dad has secured a nice trust fund for you when you finish your finishing school in Switzerland.  Next we have people who have ‘new’ money.  These are people who were not born to wealthy families but either through hard work or luck or fantastic football skills now have mega bucks.  Think Richard Branson of Virgin and David Beckham.  Neither of these blokes went to University but they have more money than they could possibly spend in their lifetime.  Good on them.One thing about rich people in England is that they are pretty consistent.  They speak well. Of course they do.  They say ‘supper’ instead of ‘dinner’ and ‘mind’ instead of ‘excuse me’.  Both wear Barbour jackets. Men wear salmon coloured trousers. Women wear their hair in messy fishtail braids and both wear a pinkie ring with their family crest.  I have a Barbour jacket and also wear a pinkie ring. But I don’t know how to do a fishtail braid. So close but yet so far.  I am happy being me and that is all she wrote.
Cheers Y’all
15 comments

  1. Lloyd d F · February 22, 2015

    ok , USA have more rich people per capita than England and they give to charity so they pay no taxes , do the rich in England pay taxes?

  2. Yvonne · February 22, 2015

    Practice that fishtail braid, please.

    • samdfb1 · February 23, 2015

      LOL! Am pretty sure I can find a youtube tutorial video on it. Yasssss 😉

  3. Yvonne · February 23, 2015

    They’ve just shown the first episode of the new series of DA. That barrow is as slippery as an eel!

    • samdfb1 · February 23, 2015

      LOL. He is! So mad its finished here. 1 more season remaining. Promise NO spoilers. Enjoy.

  4. Yvonne · February 23, 2015

    Good! Mind you, I shan’t see any more until I get back from Italy, in June. Argh.

    • samdfb1 · February 23, 2015

      Safe travels! It will be waiting for you upon your return.

  5. Phil Taylor · February 25, 2015

    I guess I’ll never be rich English because I’m not willing to wear salmon colored pants.

    • samdfb1 · February 25, 2015

      That is the funniest thing I’ve heard all day. 😉

    • samdfb1 · February 25, 2015

      and what about me? I will never master the messy fishtail braid. Have you seen it? I mean. Sigh.

      • Phil Taylor · February 25, 2015

        I’m sure I must have seen the messy fishtail braid on somebody in a BBC show I’ve watched. I’ll have to look it up.

      • samdfb1 · February 25, 2015

        yes. please. And share your findings with me. Throw me a lifeline here mate. 😉

  6. Rachel G · March 1, 2015

    I can do a fishtail braid, but I think that has more to do with the fact that I went to beauty school than my economic status. haha! They are actually really cool braids.

    • samdfb1 · March 1, 2015

      Lol. Very cool. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

