Dentists in the UK

 

Image result for image of austin powers with bad teeth

Dentists in the UK. I have known a few. Yes, yes, I have. Never mind what the international man of mystery, Austin Powers looks like…this is a gross characterisation that alludes to the fact- or rather, assumes that British people have bad teeth.  They have wonderful teeth.

I was lucky enough to have a healthy relationship with my dentist back home in the US whom I saw every 6 months.  I always left with a toy and a new toothbrush so I was a pretty happy camper.  My Mother played her part giving me and my brother sugar-free candy growing up (she insisted she loved us).  Now I am an adult grown woman living in the UK (woot woot!) and I try not to eat too much Cadbury’s chocolate or Lindt chocolate balls or Quality Street chocolate or Mars bars or Bounty Bars (chocolate covered coconut yummy goodness) but I do.  Every week.  In fact I am eating some chocolate right now.  Just kidding, Mom.

Here in the UK you can see a dentist for FREE on the NHS or you have the option to go private. While the NHS is pretty great, I personally prefer to see a private dentist-and I do.  I like my dentist. He is kind and friendly and seems interested in British politics (Yay) and he seems like a competent dentist. Oh and his teeth are amazing. In addition, my dentist   also has a boat and 7 children (although these 2 facts are not related)  I am pretty sure I helped finance that boat but I can not take responsibility for those 7 children.  This I will not do.  My dentist looks like Cliff Richard.

 

 

 

 

I see my dentist here in the UK every 6 months or so- but I do not leave with a toy or a toothbrush.  Times change I guess.

The other day I had to see a periodontist.  If you do not know what that is, then consider yourself lucky.  Trust me, you don’t want to know.  It went pretty ok and I left with my teeth and gums in tact.  Now, post-appointment, I have to change my ENTIRE approach to how I clean my teeth- if I want to keep them.  Plus, he gave me some handy tips on how to keep my pearly whites, well…pearly white-looking. He told me other stuff too but I don’t want to bore you.

Yup, I ain’t even gonna lie to you. Seeing a private periodontist  was expensive.  When I got home I had toast for dinner and bemoaned the fact that the cost of fixing my teeth, could probably buy me an island in the Caribbean or at least 3 island’s in the Caribbean.

I had previously blogged about teeth.  Now, 6 months later I am blogging again about teeth and dentists.  Every 6 months people. Try to visit your dentist every 6 months so you don’t have to see a periodontist like me.

Cheers Y’all

3 comments

  1. Lloyd d F · February 20, 2015

    Why do dentists talk to you when mouth is open and their hands are inside?

    • samdfb1 · February 20, 2015

      I have no idea why. I did ask him but he couldn’t understand what I was saying. I wonder why. 😉

  2. samdfb1 · February 28

    Reblogged this on Life in London and commented:

    Hello and hi. I thought I might reblog this post because…dentists and periodontists are people too. Now, if you will excuse me, I need to lie down in a darkened room as I fan myself with an ostrich fan and feed myself seedless grapes. Yup.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

