Wallis Simpson

Greetings and salutations. British people feel a certain way about Wallis Simpson (1896-1986) meaning that they either loathe her or love her. I happen to like her.  Wallis systematically altered the course of British history, not on purpose, but for the man she loved. Mad props to her. She was an American socialite who hailed from Baltimore, MD.  Her third husband, Prince Edward, Duke of Windsor, formerly King Edward VIII abdicated the throne to marry her. She was not liked by ‘the Firm’ or British establishment for a couple of reasons. First, she was a woman.  Next,she was divorced twice and finally, she was American.  But Edward was besotted with her -finding her domineering manner and abrasive irreverence toward his position appealing; in the words of his official biographer, he became “slavishly dependent” on her.  Yeah girl, we’ve all been there. Just kidding.

A short while later at an evening party in Buckingham Palace, Edward introduced her to his mother—his father was outraged, primarily on account of her marital history, as divorced people were generally excluded from court.  Yikes.  But now Camilla is welcomed with open arms. Times change I guess. Oh and I like Camilla as well. But I digress.

Wallis and Edward married one month after he abdicated the throne on 3 June 1937 in France.  No one from the Royal family attended their wedding. How very rude. At first, the firm did not accept the Duchess of Windsor and would not receive her formally, although the former King sometimes met with his mother (and siblings) after his abdication. Well, because mother and sons… they dote on each other.

Some biographers have suggested that Wallis’s sister-in-law, Queen Elizabeth (The Queen’s Mum), remained bitter towards her for her role in bringing George VI to the throne (which she may have seen as a factor in his early death) and for prematurely behaving as Edward’s consort when she was his mistress. But Royals hooking up with mistresses is like peanut butter and jelly. They go together well. Seriously.

Upon the Duke’s death from cancer in 1972, the Duchess (Wallis) travelled to the United Kingdom to attend his funeral, staying at Buckingham Palace during her visit. Amazing. The Duchess, increasingly frail and suffering from dementia  by this time, lived the remainder of her life as a recluse, supported by both her husband’s estate and an allowance from the Queen. Wallis Simpson had mad style and loved her third husband very much and didn’t give a monkeys’ what anyone thought about her.  And that is all anyone can ask for.

Cheers

 

NB 

Some say that Wallis saved England from being ruled by a weak King. Edward would have been a rubbish King. His heart wasn’t into it. He didn’t read much and hated getting involved with politics. In fact, he was the first modern sovereign who actually discontinued receiving daily reports from Parliament. What the what? One could say that Wallis actually saved England/the Empire. While others say that Wallis saved England from a disastrous demise with the love she had for her man-causing him to abdicate the throne. In fact, blaming Wallis for the abdication seems a bit harsh in my opinion. Yes, I said it. How do you like them apples?

24 comments

  1. GiannettaJ · February 11, 2015

    Us Baltimore girls, have it like that 🙂 Great Article !

  2. Pam Garrett · February 14, 2015

    Thanks for sharing. She has always fascinated me. I saw this on the SITS Saturday Sharefest. Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

    • samdfb1 · February 14, 2015

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • samdfb1 · February 14, 2015

      Thanks! Happy Val Day to you!

  3. Christina · February 14, 2015

    Loved this! I’ve always found her fascinating. Stopping in from SITS Sharefest.

    • samdfb1 · February 14, 2015

      Thanks! I’ve always liked her. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Howard · March 14, 2015

    You might want to edit your entries for the spelling of her name: it’s ‘Wallis’ (though you do get it right in places), not like Braveheart, or Gromit’s cheese-crazy friend and master.

    XXXXXXX. (<- Notice that? No Os. Therefore British, not American).
    H.

    • samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

      Thanks for your constructive criticism, mate.

      • Howard · March 14, 2015

        It’s my pleasure, Ma’am.

        I might have a minor whinge at your spelling of ‘gaff’ later, but not now — I’m exhausted at all this tablet screen-stabbing I have to do. Pedantry can be knackering. And I have no wish to make the author of such a wonderful blog begin to feel as if she is persecuted by yours truly. You should be warmly thanked and congratulated instead. Such enjoyment you give to us all.

        XOXOXOX (<- releasing my imaginary inner American).
        H.

      • samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

        hah! Ok, we are officially friends. Can’t imagine you have many American friends. Only joking. Tablet screen-stabbing? Is this a thing? More importantly-is it covered by the NHS? Do tell, mate. x

  5. samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

    Reblogged this on Life in London and commented:

    Apologies for the spelling errors which I have now fixexd. I am human after all. Cheers.

  6. Howard · March 14, 2015

    Indeed screen-stabbing is a thing. My tablet has what it laughably calls a touch-sensitive screen, for inputting. It is about as sensitive as a prison guard. I have to prod it with a progger and with increasing impatience and inventive bad language until it stops ignoring me or deliberately misinterpreting me, and what I want to appear on the screen actually does. Time-wasting is not recognised by my tablet as a sin. I hate my tablet, and it seems this animosity is mutual.

    The NHS does treat for screen-stabbing. Revenue from VAT partly covers it.

    I am as pleased as punch and very proud to have you as a friend. I promise not to call you ‘Samsung’.

    XXXXXXX
    H.

    • samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

      Funny. That being said, you are clearly insane-but in a good way. I’ve been wanting a tablet but after reading about yours I’ve changed my mind. H, if you call me ‘Samsung’ well, then, you are dead to me. End of. Mate.

    • samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

      H, have you read EVERYTHING? Which one is your favourite? No criticism! This is a safe space. Besides, I don’t want to fall out with you. Again. X

  7. Howard · March 14, 2015

    Well, if I am insane, it’s to be blamed on the agony caused by my tablet. In fact you can call me Samsung Agonistes if you wish.

    I have read the whole thing, and enjoyed it enormously. You write like an angel (or a devil — I’m not sure which. Both are good though.) If I were to be forced to choose only one of your essays (and I hope no-one would be so heartless as to force such a choice) it would be the piece about your being arm-in-arm with the bobby. It had me in such guffaws that I feared that my netherwear might be prematurely laundry-worthy.

    As a blogista you seem to be, for someone of American origins, surpringly quiet about the separate hot and cold water tap issue. This is good. You’re also, among your fellow Americans, as far as I can tell, reasonably unhysterical about Harry Potter; this fact wins you high accolades from me. I might write to Buckingham Palace about the possibility of a Damehood for you on this account.

    I’ll have to excuse you Downton Abbey though, because in all other respects you are wonderful.

    XXXXXXX
    H.

    • samdfb1 · March 14, 2015

      HAHAHAHAHA! H, you make me laugh and cry in equal measure. For real. Aaaahh…the hot and cold tap issue….thanks for the idea mate. Oh, and don’t EVEN get me started about that chain coming from the toilet which is waaayy above my head for reasons only known to the Victorians. I guess I should be happy I have an indoor toilet. And that is just a fact and not toilet humour if you know what I mean. Also, you need to get on the ‘dog ad bone’ and call or IM or text Buckingham Palace because I sure could use a Damehood. For real. To quote a famous American actress ‘wow, you like me…you REALLY like me!’ So, with that our blog-friendship is set in stone. But where is your blog? Do you have one? You should. You are hilarious. Sometimes not. Joking. Anyway, have a nice evening and you have a good one…said in my broadest American accent. BTW, these days I am sounding more and more like Lady Cora of Downton Abbey and that is not bad thing. In my opinion. Cheers. x

  8. Howard · March 15, 2015

    Lady Cora! Gosh, she gives me the total HOTS. That honeyest of accents… People look round nervously for a fire extinguisher when they detect that I might be thinking of Her. If anything could attract me back to the programme, it would be Her.

    Is this Too Much Information?

    Yes, says our generous blogista S. It is. Now calm down and try to compose yourself. Remember you’re an Englishman. There, now.

Leave a Reply

