Aristocratic British Words

Hi Y’all, lately this blog is becoming all about British words and phrases.  Of course there is more to England than its language, syntax and grammar.  I seem to be stuck on words at the mo (moment). Hope you don’t mind.
Aristocratic words and regular people words seem to be one in the same.  Strange.  So, as they say back home (in the US)-‘its all good in the hood’. So, let’s do this.
1.Toffee-nose.  This means you are extremely stuck up.  For some, this might even be a compliment.  Trust me, it is not.
2. Pleb. Proceed with caution when using this word.  This word is so dangerous that a few months ago, a MP (Member of Parliament) called a Policeman this (he was cross, in a hurry and wanted to get past him).  Well, the MP lost his job, went to court, paid the court fees of the policeman AND had to publicly apologise.  In short, it means: ‘I look down on you, you are a lesser person than me.’ Please don’t use this word. Ever.
3. Pleasure.  When someone says, ‘nice to meet you’, you say ‘pleasure’.  I guess it is the short version of ‘the pleasure is all mine.’  Whenever I say this, I often think of myself as dripping with diamonds and fur. We are all different. Don’t judge me.
4. Pardon.  When someone says something inaudible or something you quite don’t understand, NEVER say ‘what?’ It is considered rude and quite common (hey I don’t make the rules, I just blog about them). You must always respond with ‘Pardon?’
And that is all she wrote.
Cheers Y’all
4 comments

  1. Yvonne · December 10, 2014

    We’ve imported a lot of the English sayings here Down Under.

    However, good old Aussie slang has a life all its own, although, sadly, it’s fading away.

    • samdfb1 · December 11, 2014

      Oh no. I wonder why that is. I thought you might know more than a few of these words and phrases.

  2. sadieforsythe · December 13, 2014

    I’m married to an Englishman and lived over there for several years. (I’m American.) I’m afraid I put my foot in my mouth more than once using words I’d picked up from hearing, but not giving too much thought to their context.

    I had to learn pardon too. When hubs and I were new, I used to repeat myself all the time. I’d say something and he’d look at me and say, ‘huh.’ Which I took to be a question or sign he hadn’t heard me. When he finally asked why I was saying the same thing over and over and told him, he explained ‘huh’ was an acknowledgement of having heard me, not a query at all.

    • samdfb1 · December 13, 2014

      sadieforsythe thanks for checking out my blog. That was ha-larious. I def. feel your pain. I can’t tell you how many times I have said ‘pants’ and got stern looks in return. Also, ‘hubs’ is fab- I need to start using that…with your permission of course.

Leave a Reply

