Fantastically Funny British Words

Hi Y’all, I promise to get back to my unofficial tour of GB but am having so much fun with words simply because words are fun. So, let’s get started…

1. Palava. This means a load of hassle. For example, ‘my train is delayed and I will miss my meeting and free breakfast. What a palava’.

2. Flannel. This means washcloth. So weird.

3. Cheeky. This is used by British people every hour of every day. It is a word used to describe someone who does something or says something sort of disrespectful and sometimes rude, but says it in a cunning way.

4. Rubbish. Not trash. Nope. But what you are saying is ‘rubbish’ which is trash. Are you with me? (or against me?).

5. And I have saved the best for last. Goolies. It is the British slang for testicles. Sorry Mom, I know you read this blog. But I am informing people.

Back to British geography next blog post. I promise.

Cheers Y’all

24 comments

  1. Lloyd de Freitas · December 4, 2014

    Going on unofficial tour of GT ? Very warm there, Foggy s/b a word since we are all in a fog if we are walking outside

    • samdfb1 · December 4, 2014

      Great Britain Dad, not Georgetown. Although Georgetown would be nice right about now!

  2. Messy Money (@Messy__Money) · December 6, 2014

    I love British expressions. These are good. I like how they use the word pants to mean underwear – which can lead to some hysterical and embarrassing conversations.

    • samdfb1 · December 6, 2014

      Thanks for reading. Can’t believe I forgot that one! Boy, I have said ‘pants’ so, so many times. Much to the embarrassment of everyone around me. You should check out my other blog post: ‘How ONE English word can convey an ENTIRE thought’.

  3. Phil Taylor · December 6, 2014

    I love your posts. They’re always a little cheeky but they are never rubbish.

    • samdfb1 · December 7, 2014

      Thanks! Or as we say here ‘Many thanks’

  4. BritishMumUSA · December 7, 2014

    Ok so as you know I am British married to a Yank living in the USA.. My mum told my husband to keep his pecker up. !!!!!! She still has no idea what that means here. Over where you are it means keep your chin up, stiff upper lip mate!!!!

  5. GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

    I love rubbish. Never heard of goolies

    • samdfb1 · December 31, 2014

      I love rubbish as well. Happy to help expand your vocab!

  6. GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

    I like using “bloody” as an intensifier

    • samdfb1 · December 31, 2014

      I say ‘bloody’ like 10 x’s a day. I bloody love that word. Er…11.

      • GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

        Bloody brilliant

      • samdfb1 · December 31, 2014

        IKR? Wait. We’ve bloody done that already.

      • GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

        IKR? I know right?

      • samdfb1 · December 31, 2014

        Yep.

      • GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

        Cheeky

      • GratuitousRex · December 31, 2014

        Ok ok I know yours want a cheeky thing bit I wanted to say it

      • samdfb1 · January 1, 2015

        Beyond cheeky. Utterly shambolic. Happy New Year!

      • GratuitousRex · January 1, 2015

        Shambolic? That’s a word?

      • samdfb1 · January 1, 2015

        yes it is. British people throw that word down ALL the time. It means chaotic, disorganised…

      • GratuitousRex · January 1, 2015

        So are you an American in England?

      • samdfb1 · January 2, 2015

        Yes I am. But hail from DC.

  7. samdfb1 · June 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Life in London.

Leave a Reply

