How ONE English word can convey an ENTIRE thought.

I hope you guys have enjoyed my tour of the North of England. I need to take a break from that because I live in the South. Just saying.

Here in England, communication is key. Not only do you need to speak the Queen’s English but it is better to do so using just one word. That’s right. I mean…correct. Let’s get started.

1. Indeed. It just means ‘yes’ or it could mean ‘no’. Its short and sweet and a bit posh. Well, I think it is.

2. Quite. Again, it means ‘yes, I agree’ or ‘no, I don’t agree.’ They say this a lot in Downton Abbey.

3. Bless. This is a good one. It can be comforting or patronising. You choose.  ‘She looks like mutton dressed as lamb. Bless’ or ‘He is working ever so hard to provide for his family. Bless.’

4. Nevermind. This one is a CLASSIC. This one was a bit hard for me in the beginning. This means ‘oh well and can be used in the following way: ‘This incessant rain has caused my house to flood, my things are ruined, even this brand new carpet. The house stinks. Hope the insurance pays. Nevermind.’

5. Diabolical. This means devilish or fiendish. British people love to throw this one down.

6. Shambolic. This means very messy, disorganised or confused. You will hear this at least once a day if you are on this side of the pond. For real.

So, in the finish…NOT reading my blog is most diabolical of you. Shambolic at best.  Nevermind.  You of course have other things to attend to. Indeed you do. Bless. I could use a cup of tea anyway. Quite.

See what I did there?

Cheers Y’all

2 comments

  1. Phil Taylor · December 3, 2014

    Indeed you have a wonderful blog. Bless.

    • samdfb1 · December 4, 2014

      You are a natural! Quite.

Leave a Reply

