Bonfire Night

Image result for image of bonfire night    Image: Edusentials

Bonfire Night, also known as ‘Guy Fawkes Day’ falls every year on 5 November. Technically, I really should have posted this yesterday on THE actual day, but to be honest, it took me a full 24 hours to get my head around this wacky holiday. For real. The origins lies in the failed conspiracy (and lets face it, no one likes a conspiracy) of some English Catholics who wanted to replace the Protestant King James I of England with a Catholic head of state. The Gunpowder plot as it was named, came into being when Guy Fawkes, a member of the Gunpowder Plot was arrested guarding explosives that he and his group had placed beneath the House of Lords. As they thought this would be a fast track way to change their head of state. They were going to blow up Parliament to kingdom come. Preferably a Protestant kingdom and not a Catholic one. So, at the 11th hour, poor Guy was caught guarding the cache of explosives. So, every year on the 5th of November, the Brits celebrate his capture and his dastardly plan with bonfires, fireworks and burning an effigy of Guy Fawkes. Like I said, poor guy.

Image result for image of Guy Fawkes

Cheers

5 comments

  1. Julie · November 8, 2014

    My son and I were just talking about what a weird thing it is to celebrate and are we celebrating the fact he tried or failed? No one has a clue, we just like the bonfire, fireworks and tomato soup in a mug. I think the trick is not to try to make it make sense, half the stuff we do here in the UK makes no sense at all!

    • samdfb1 · November 8, 2014

      Thanks Julie! I can def. agree with you on that one-being an American here in the UK none of it makes any sense. But its so fab here, I think I am gonna stay awhile. Have a bril weekend!

  2. Ray F (@BritishMumUSA) · November 8, 2014

    Hysterical when you think about it and rather gruesome. We make and drag around something that looks like Guy and then burn him at the stake. Got to love 5th Nov. When I came here to the USA, I love being out on the 4th and watching the fireworks in the warmth, what a concept!!!!!

    • samdfb1 · November 9, 2014

      IKR? Born on the 4th of July. Don’t I wish I was.

  3. samdfb1 · November 6, 2016

    Reblogged this on Life in London.

Leave a Reply

