An American in London

As an American living in London I try to maintain my Americanness (The quality or characteristic of being American) at all times. I have lived in the UK for more than a New York minute and I do find myself slowly adapting to their strange and foreign ways. Remember what Charles Darwin said? ‘Adapt or die’ and he was British, so he knew what he was talking about.

So, these British ways, oddities and peculiarities have been rubbing off on me. Firstly, I now have a hybrid American-British accent. Its just plain weird. People don’t know if I am posh or just mocking them. Its usually the latter. Only kidding. I mock no one except myself. The other British quality I’ve acquired is the ‘stiff upper lip’. When things go wrong, and sometimes they do, I just carry on. I find that the stiff upper lip approach offers credibility whereas freaking out draws attention and slight suspicion. So, its important to pick your poison when you are trying to effortlessly integrate. The other British quality I’ve adopted is that I drink roughly 8 cups of tea a day. This is not a quality but rather a way of life. Although I do jump start my day with a cup of black coffee. Hey, I’m American born and bred. Finally, the last British quality I have acquired is a wicked sense of dry humour. I’m talking Gobi dessert, man. When I let loose, even my fellow Brits are shocked. They politely muse, ‘how could this American have a sense of British humour?’ Well, I do. And I wield it with precision and accuracy. Like Charles Darwin said y’all, ‘adapt or die’.

Cheers

One comment

  1. Lloyd de Freitas · September 27, 2014

    any Guyanese qualities? eating labba and drinking creek water will make you return…

Leave a Reply

