British Summer Time

British Summer Time usually lasts between 45 minutes and 3 days.  Not this year.  This year is different. We’ve had 3 whole weeks of punishing heat and blinding sun. Its actually hotter here in the UK than it is in Spain.  Where is the rain? I ask.  The oppressive heat is almost unbearable. However, I am comforted by the fact that people that I don’t know (or will ever know) are looking out for me and my hydration needs.  This morning on the tube the controller said the following over his loudspeaker, ‘In this time of warm weather, please keep a bottle of water handy.’  Wow.  The controller, in my opinion needs to be focussing on the right running of the 150 year old underground.  Instead, he is concerned about me getting dehydrated. Nice. 

As I fan myself with the free paper provided on the underground, my thoughts turn to the local swimming baths (public pools).  Sadly, I can not go to the swimming baths as they are filled with feral English school children who have just broken up for summer. (School is out y’all).  They are indeed feral and I don’t do feral. End of. 

Coming home from work today on the oven…I mean bus, I watched a single bead of sweat roll down the back of a bald man’s head (I know, gross). It’s so hot here that not only am I sweating, I am watching other people sweat.  Time for a rain dance people.

Cheers

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. LLOYD DE FREITAS · July 30, 2014

    It’s called Cricket Weather and the Cook is cleaning the Roots and Bells

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

