House prices in London

I read in the newspaper yesterday about house prices in London. More specifically, this article was geared towards first time buyers. I think the intent was to inform not scare the living the daylights out of. But scare it did.

In London, a first time buyer should expect to fork out £280K for their home with a £70K deposit. Don’t forget the stamp duty at £8400 (the tax you pay when you buy a property over a certain price.)

I lived in a flat for YEARS before moving to a house. Perhaps a better word would be ‘rectangle’ rather than ‘flat’. So tiny or I should say intimate that standing in the centre, I could see the goings on in any room of the flat/rectangle. I was the Mona Lisa of my gaffe (house).

Happy now in my own house and even happier that I have to walk from room to room just to see what you are up to-if anything, which is nice. Also, I have a back garden that is neatly trimmed thanks to astro turf but roots do bore through the astro turf-so I really have the best of both worlds.

I recently read of a Chinese immigrant that had been living inside of the Brooklyn bridge for YEARS. He had all the trappings including: a gas stove, electricity and running water. While he didn’t have a PC he did have Wi-Fi. Because a home without Wi-Fi is just not a home.

So, much respect if you are a home owner in London. You are clearly a Russian oligarch who has astro turf in his back garden. Nyet?

Cheers

p.s. £1 = $1.68

4 comments

  1. courtneyconover · May 14, 2014

    Hi, there! It’s Courtney from The Brown Girl with Long Hair blog stopping in to say hello. (You commented on one of my blog posts this past weekend, which I truly appreciate…)

    You have such a unique blog here, and I’ve bookmarked it for future reference. I found this particular post fascinating because I like London — I haven’t been in nearly 20 years and I have no plans to move there, but I still love it nonetheless.

    Have a terrific day. 🙂

    • samdfb1 · May 15, 2014

      Thanks! Really liked your blog, especially the hair tips! Recently cut 8 inches off my hair. Love it but in mourning for my once long, black hair. Have a good day! Cheers

      • courtneyconover · May 15, 2014

        LOL Oh my God! You did The Big Chop!

        Just a heads up, I’m launching a pretty fabulous giveaway this Wednesday, May 21 — and trust me, you’ll still be able to use this item!

        xo

      • samdfb1 · May 18, 2014

        great. looking forward to it! x

Leave a Reply

